Upgrading the HD on a Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ma5ter5, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. ma5ter5 macrumors member

    ma5ter5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Outside
    #1
    I've got a MB764LL/A 500GB Time Capsule, and was looking to upgrade the hard drive. Can I do this, and how large of a drive could I put in? Thanks.

    Steve
     
  2. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    Yes, and I currently have a 2TB WD Caviar Green in my first gen TC. Although my current is a replacement from Apple, I believe the specs are the same. And my pre-replacement first gen TC had a 1.5TB HDD that I'd installed.
     
  3. ma5ter5 thread starter macrumors member

    ma5ter5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Outside
    #3
    thanks. any idea if I'd be able to install the new WD 3TB drive?

    -steve
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
  5. Brian33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    USA (Virginia)
    #5
    I have a 1st-generation 500GB Time Capsule (with serial number within the "problem" range!). I recently replaced the internal drive with a 2TB WD Caviar Green (WD20EARS). It was really easy -- I followed the directions I found here: http://www.applefritter.com/node/23907

    It's been working wonderfully and it is soooo much quieter.

    Don't know about the 3TB drive... it seems like it should work, though.
     
  6. RasterScan macrumors member

    RasterScan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    You can, just make sure it's a WD green drive. They generate low heat. You have to slowly pry the rubber base off of the Time Capsule and remove all the screws. It's not hard at all.
     

Share This Page