Upgrading this year any suggestions- Sell Macbook, get iMac and iPad

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MacGenius1211, Feb 19, 2011.

1. MacGenius1211 macrumors newbie

Well after 4 years with this MacBook Im finally due to upgrade. Im a college student and I like portability

I have a really nice laptop desktop setup
    My Macbook is a late 2007 2.2ghz. I upgraded the ram to 4GB put a 500GB Drive in her. The top case has been replaced by Apple a month ago. Shes connected to a 24inch LCD which lets me use it in desktop mode when im at home. I prefer a desktop when im at home

So ive considered selling the Macbook and getting a 27 inch iMac or getting a Mac Pro and an iPad for college, I mainly do light duty stuff in college like opening word documents, viewing powerpoint presentations, typing notes and general browsing the web.

As far as at home, Im quite the power user, Im a network engineering major. I work with old macs, and everything, So I need a good desktop computer at home.

Any suggestions on what I should do, Are you iPad users happy with them, I know I would be waiting until june to get one

2. Voondebah macrumors member

I'm in a similar situation myself. I'm also a college student, and I want to upgrade my desktop (mac mini) , but also my laptop (4 year old macbook). As far as your iPad concerns, it's a tough question. I have an iPad, and I can say that it will suffice if you only expect to ever have to read and compose documents. But for me, I need to have a legitimate laptop. I need to work in groups at the university, and need to be able to interface with devices and write/compile code. If it wasn't for my need to do these things portably, I could get by with only the iPad for use during classes.

3. Jphillippe macrumors regular

Jphillippe