Upgrading Time Machine to a Larger Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ParishM, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. ParishM macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #1
    what is the best/easiest way to migrate time machine backup files
    to a new larger drive ? i'm upgrading a 1TB drive to a 4TB drive.

    i tried using carbon copy once before and it apparently didn't
    recognize the files and created a whole new backup in addition
    to the existing backup.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just use Disk Utility to clone the old drive to the new. First format the new drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) in Disk Util. Then go to the restore tab and drag the old drive into source and the new drive into destination, then click restore.
     
  3. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #3

    that's exactly what i did yesterday. i bought a new WD MyBook 4TB, formatted it in
    disk utility and used the restore feature with the old TM drive as source and WD 4TB
    drive as destination. it took about 8 hours and when i woke up there were two drives
    named time machine on my desktop and the new one showed 4TB. i like my fancy
    external enclosure much better than the plastic mybook case so i pulled the 4TB drive
    out and put it in my fancy enclosure. for some reason OS X now
    says it doesn't recognize the drive so i click initialize and now it only sees 1.8TB out of
    4 and it has some weird name like disk 01hrsko. nothing i did would make it see the
    entire 4TB including repartitioning and formatting.

    i'm totally lost, all i did was move the drive to a different enclosure. no idea why this happened ?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    If you put it back in the WD enclosure, does it work okay then? I'm wondering if there is something proprietary about the WD enclosure/drive setup that makes is incompatible with third party enclosures?
     
  5. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #5

    yep tried that, even tried connecting it to a windows machine.
    the windows machine saw the whole 4TB (3725.99) in disk
    management but wouldn't let me format or partition it and
    it didn't show up in my computer.
     
  6. ParishM thread starter macrumors regular

    ParishM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
    #6
    Update : it appears WD uses some kind of encryption on the MyBook
    drives and also a proprietary piggyback USB controller. a few posts
    i found claim a full low-level format and removing the USB controller
    makes the drive usable in other enclosures or desktops.

    i'm trying a full write-zero's format now, estimated time is 52 hours
    for a 4TB drive.


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page