Upgrading to 16GB RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spidersam, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. spidersam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #1
    Hi All

    I have a macbook pro bought in 2010 details below..

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro7,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache 3 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP71.0039.B0B

    Running Version OSX 10.6.8

    I recently bought G.Skill SO-DIMM F3-10666CL9D-16GBSQ (2 x 8GB)

    When I put them in to upgrade the ram, it hangs on the white screen and I've no idea why, ive read that Core2Duo is not sandy bridge or something like that, and that my macbook should support this upgrade.

    I can't think what im doing wrong, any ideas greatly appreciated!
     
  2. bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #2
    Are you sure your MBP supports that much Ram? Isn't 2x4gb for a total of 8GB the maximum for that model?
     
  3. I5acc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    #3
    I got the same mac model i7 one and support only 8 gb of ram maximum... So read the model specification before upgrade
     
  4. spidersam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #4
    I would like to think it would handle 16gb so ill keep on trying.
    but have not come across a reason why it cannot handle 16gb.
     
  5. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
    #5
    Sorry mate, that machine will only recognize 8gb of ram.
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    Your macbook pro does not support 16GB ram, that's why it won't boot.

    ----------

    Because the chipset has not been designed to handle that much RAM. You're running a late Penryn(last iteration of the mobile Core 2 Duo) chip that could accept only up to 8GB. MBP's using sandy bridge(early 2011, or MBP 8,x models) or later processors can and will accept up to 32GB of RAM. It's pure hardware limitation, period.

    You can insist on trying again, but whatever you attempt will not make this hardware limitation go away. Return the RAM and call it a day.
     
  7. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  8. spidersam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #9
    Thanks for explaining :)

    If this next passage sounds ridiculous, thats probably down to my lack of chipset knowledge

    ram aside, is it feasible to upgrade the chipset in a 2010 macbook pro to handle 16 or even 32GB ram rather than paying for whole new macbook pro

    i want to supe this macbook to its limits without forking out for a whole new one. :)
     
  9. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Not feasible.
     
  10. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #11
    I have the same model but with the 2.26 Core 2 Duo, the motherboard can only accept a total of 8GB.
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    If you want a noticeable improvement in speed, install a SSD. It is the single best upgrade you can do on your MBP.
     
  12. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #13
    Indeed. 8GB of RAM then an SSD is the ultimate upgrade for that generation. That said, does this iteration support Sata 3 (6.0 Gbs)?
     
  13. richnyc macrumors regular

    richnyc

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
  14. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    No, the 2011 models were the first to support SATA III. That being said, the Samsung 830/840 drives are still a good option, as is the Crucial M4(I've got one in my mid-2009). Newegg has some OCZ drives on sale today if you're a gamblin' man, but I'd stay away from OCZ personally.

    ----------

    I've found that 1333MHz RAM will also work in these older models. I've got some Corsair in mine.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...0000414&IsNodeId=1&name=DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
     
  15. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #16
    No.

    In about 99% of all laptops out there, everything is soldered straight onto the logic board. If you want to upgrade, you'd need to upgrade the whole thing, which would likely cost youmore than selling your mac and buying a new one.

    If you've cracked open a Macbook Pro, you've seen this for yourself.
     
  16. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #17
    You cant do anything like that to a MacBook Pro.

    All you can do is 8GB DDR3, SSD and maybe a optibay
     
  17. RubberSol macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    #18
  18. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #19
    He has a 2010 model which only supports up to 8GB.
    Your's is 2011 model which supports to 16/32GB.
     
  19. bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #20
    If you put the specs of Spidersam's 2010 MBP into the Crucial Memory Advisor™ tool on that site, however, you'll see that this memory set isn't compatible with Spidersam's MBP.
     
  20. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    Get a nice SSD if you haven't already. That's really as far you can go.

    Anything else, you're far better offering buying a newer model.
     

Share This Page