Upgrading to 3.0 Beta and Device ID

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by noah82, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. noah82 macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Ok, so I am probably a complete idiot for doing this so fast, but I was extremely excited to preview the 3.0 beta software that I paid the $99 to become a registered iPhone developer today.

    I viewed the "before the install" .pdf in the developer site and proceeded to download the 3.0 software. I installed it on my iPhone and now iTunes is telling me that they are unable to complete my activation because the device is not registered in the beta program. It is asking me for my device ID, but since I already upgraded to 3.0 iTunes will not tell me my ID!

    How can I go about finding the device ID now that my iPhone is in this state? Your help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. -Garry- macrumors 6502a

    -Garry-

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Sorry this is off topic, but I've been playing around with the SDK and 2.2.1 for a while now. Like you I paid the $99 subscription fee today. I just wondered how long it takes to receive the activation code?
     
  3. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #3
    A week or two. Assuming you are accepted.
     
  4. noah82 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    I registered today and I got the confirmation within 2 hours. I can't use my phone though since I didn't add my device ID BEFORE upgrading to 3.0!!
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Did you try getting the ID from Xcode Organiser?
     
  6. -Garry- macrumors 6502a

    -Garry-

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    I think that's been the usual in the past however others, like the OP, are saying they've paid today and already have access to the 3.0 SDK.

    Also, during the sign-up process there's an indication that it's 'up to 24 hours' and there's no allusion anywhere that you may be 'rejected.'

    To the OP - I'm sorry you're having trouble and I've hijacked your thread. Does this page help: http://www.iphoneventures.com/index.php/2008/12/09/get-an-iphone-device-id-for-provisioning/ ?
     
  7. noah82 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    That is my next step...I am downloading the SDK now, but it is taking FOREVER!
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    Tell me about it :).
     
  9. noah82 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Oh my god you are a freaking genius! I have my phone back! I owe you a St. Patrick's day beer! :D
     
  10. -Garry- macrumors 6502a

    -Garry-

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    I'm English. St. George's Day is 23rd April but beer's always a good idea. ;)
     
  11. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  12. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    When you have the developer account on how many devices can you install the beta 3.0?
     
  13. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #13
    How do you register your device with apple? I installed the new firmware on my ipod touch to develop on, but when I connect to iTunes it says the device isn't registered and gives me a link just to the iphone developer section. I don't see a specific part where I can register the device.

    edit: silly me, i got it sorted out.
     
  14. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #14
    Please tell me how you got past the itunes error. I have the identifier, but it will not activate...

    Thanks in advance!!!!
     
  15. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #15
    I'd love to know this too.
     
  16. xxMACxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #16
    100

    I went thru this earlier this morning. You have to go to the Program Portal and add your device. My screen said you can have up to 100 devices. After doing this, and going into itunes, it activated the phone and finished the upgrade.
     
  17. zoen11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #17
    Is the iPhone OS 3.0 locked?

    -Can I install iphone os 3.0 beta (I'm a dev.) and then use it for every day, so use it normaly und install apps from the app store, etc...
    -Is the iPhone OS 3.0 locked? Can I use it with every simcard??
     

Share This Page