Upgrading to 4GB in my new SR MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Erukian, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. Erukian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #1
    Mostly for just bragging rights :p

    Not really, I want to run a lot of windows and OSX programs side by side while doing a lot of photography work, so i think it's a good idea just for the future.

    I was wondering a few things about running 4GB of ram, what type of product on the net floating out there is KNOWN to work with the new santa rosa MBP's (i'd like to spend less than $250 shipped)

    Also, can the SR MBP run the DDR2 chips at 800MHz to match the FSB or will it run at 667 as a chipset limitation. In other words, can i only use PC5300 memory?
     
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #2
    You can buy the 800mhz modules if you want...
     
  3. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #3
    All 2GB sticks of ram will work in santa Rosa MacBooks. Don't bother with 800mhz ram. It's only available in 1gb sticks at theoment and it's quite a bit more expensive and not known whether it can even run at full speed. Pick up the OCZ ram I posted in the other thread.
     
  4. JasonMac macrumors regular

    JasonMac

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
  5. SavageLLama77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007

Share This Page