Upgrading to 4gb worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by odinsride, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    I've had my new SR MBP with 2gb ram since they came out, and was thinking about upgrading to 4gb ram sometime. Is it really worth upgrading? Will I notice any performance increases? I have to say it runs pretty darn good with only 2gb and I do quite a bit - ProTools, Photoshop, iPhoto, WoW, etc.
     
  2. J'aime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    if you have the money to spend, why not? you can never have too much memory. you may not notice a major speed difference, but it would probably be better over the long run.
     
  3. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #3
    Yup, pretty much!

    I'm not au fait with ProTools, but certainly you would get a nifty boost in Photoshop.
     
  4. L3X macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    #4
    If you start to use a lot of plug-ins in Pro Tools, it will definitely help. Also, if you get into Logic Pro at all, it will come in handy.

    More memory the better imo. :D
     
  5. wongulous macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    #5
    It won't hurt, except your pocketbook... because RAM will inevitably be cheaper in 1-3 years over the course of your laptop's early life cycle, and of course in 1-3 years you'll need more RAM compared to using today's applications. But if you're fine now, why blow the money on something you won't need until later (when it'll be cheaper anyway)?
     
  6. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I would go into utilities and see if you are even using up the 2 gigs. Try checking after a full day of work. If you have around 1/2 gig left, I wouldn't. But if you are paging and don't have much ram left, then I would do it, perhaps one at a time though.
     
  7. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    4GB of RAM will give you "true" 64-bit processing. I'm sure you'll notice a difference with 4GB and Leopard (true 64-bit OS).
     
  8. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    I read somewhere that you need 4 Gb of ram to prevent data bottle-necks .. :cool:
     
  9. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #9
    I recently bumped up my RAM to 4GB -- been using FCP, CS and other media software concurrently and I experienced some slowdown. Things are much quicker now.

    OWC has good prices (with RAM exchange). Check 'em out.
     
  10. alec macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    Given the apps you use, if you have the money, yes.
     
  11. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
  12. Gandhi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #13
    Oh yeah, more is better when it comes to memory on OS X. Got 4 gigs on my MBP and it flies. Biggest difference I see is in Fusion and after a ong day of use for Safari 3 Beta - no page in page out slow downs!
     

Share This Page