Upgrading to Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by misterclutch, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. misterclutch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #1
    We have 2 macbook air laptops in the house. My brother just bought one at best buy today. Bought have wireless AC capabilities. I was thinking of upgrading our router. Right now I have an Asus RT-N66u router. I also have a ps4 and a nintendo wii. Would there be issues with my gaming consoles in case i upgrade to the airport extreme?
     
  2. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    The Airport Extreme is backwards compatible with 802.11n so there wont be any issues.
     
  3. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #3
    I don't have to open any ports for my ps4?
     
  4. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Any ports you had open for any specific purposes will need to be opened on the Airport Extreme.
     
  5. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #5
    Anyway I have to additional research on this one. Thanks
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    A new AC router is not likely to give you better wit speeds or better download speeds. All it will do it give you faster speeds inside the network between devices like say a NAS device or file transfers between the two AC wifi devices.

    Unless that is a need you have, I would keep the Asus router you have now. It is far more full featured than any of Apple's routers anyway.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    The AirPort is very easy to configure ports on.
     
  8. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    Report back if you need any help configuring the new AirPort.
     
  10. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11

    It is well worth it in the end. It is a great piece of equipment.
     
  12. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
  13. ELMI0001 macrumors 6502

    ELMI0001

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Location:
    Olympic Hills GC
    #13
    Contemplating the same upgrade from the same Asus router.

    Why are you upgrading? The Asus router has been extremely unreliable and consistently drops connection to devices. Have you been experiencing this? For me I'll be listening to iHeart Radio or anything on my iPhone and it cuts out for 3-5 seconds and then picks back up like nothing happened. This happens with my Apple TV and my Sony Blu Ray player when streaming. It's been very frustrating and Asus has been no help.
     
  14. misterclutch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
  15. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #15
    using a Time Capsule with 3 Xbox 360's, PS4, Multiple MAC's and iOS devices,
    No need for port forwarding for Xbox and PS4.
    All get open NAT or NAT type 2 (PS4) without port forwarding.
     

Share This Page