Upgrading to iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by AcesHigh87, Jul 25, 2011.

1. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

AcesHigh87

Hey guys, I'm a university student going into my 3rd year as a multimedia major with a certificate in the film program. I plan to work in editing or filming as a career.

I currently own an early 2008 macbook that I bought refurbished in, I believe, early 2009. It runs fine for bringing to class (for notes), browsing the web and doing photoshop work but isn't exactly powerful enough to do the kind of editing I need to work on. With my future goals in mind I need to start getting experience with the high end editing programs (FCP, Premiere, AE, etc) but can barely run them currently. My hardware can run premiere and after effects but it whines a lot and works very slowly. It's not up to date enough at all to run the new Final Cut.

So, my plan is to buy one of the iMac's and use it as my editing computer, keeping my macbook for just classwork and such. My main question coming here is, which one would be best? Obviously, top end would trump all but I'm ignoring that because my budget would likely be capped at about $1800 (Canadian, after student pricing).

What I'm wondering is, for that price point, what do you think would be my best option? This includes any size configuration (21.5" is big enough but wouldn't complain about 27") and any additional hardware updates that would help me out but stay under the budget.

So, that's my long-winded explanation. Any help would be appreciated. I will likely be buying sometime around Christmas of this year or early next year.

2. Obscurelight macrumors 6502

I would suggest grabbing the 21.5 so you can get more specs for your budget rather than pay for extra screen space you can probably live without.

2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
    1TB Serial ATA Drive
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512MB GDDR5
    Apple Magic Mouse