Upgrading to Lion. Advice needed

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by signatus, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. signatus, Nov 6, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011

    signatus macrumors member

    signatus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Andalucía, Spain
    #1
    Hi there.

    Next week I'll get my new iPhone 4S, with iOS5. I'd like to make the most of it with iCloud, so I need to upgrade the OS in my MBP 2008 from Snow Leopard to Lion.
    My question is if my MBP is not a bit oldish to run Lion. Do you think it is possible?
     
  2. newfoundglory macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #2
    I have Lion on my Early 2008 MBP, and it runs like a dream. Best to upgrade to at least 4Gb RAM though (Early 2008 MBP will take 6GB RAM, which is what I have in mine).
     
  3. signatus thread starter macrumors member

    signatus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Andalucía, Spain
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. Just checked it out, and I only have 2GB of RAM. Do you think that will be a serious problem?
     
  4. dumb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    signatus: if you have 2Gb, I strongly suggest, you don't upgrade. I have 2011 MBP with 4Gb. Lion itself takes, 1.4-1.6 gb, safari will fun you the other half a gig.
     
  5. signatus thread starter macrumors member

    signatus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Andalucía, Spain
    #5
    Thanks a lot. I'll have to find out if it suits me better to upgrade the ram or have a new Mac, though the one I have runs like magic.
     
  6. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #6
    RAM is cheap and simple to upgrade, if your machine is running OK then just upgrade unless you have been wanting a new MBP anyway. Visit either www.macsales.com (OWC) or Crucial to find the right RAM for your machine.
     

Share This Page