Upgrading to Lion from Leopard

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gigemzach, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. gigemzach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #1
    So my IMac and MacBook are currently running leopard not snow leopard. To upgrade to lion do I need to first purchase snow leopard?
     
  2. zachever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #2
    id think so. considering the only way to update through lion is through the mac app store, and you need snow leopard to get the mac app store, i dont see any other way.
     
  3. gigemzach thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #3
    Thanks... I was hoping that wasn't what I was going to have to do, but it is what it is.
     
  4. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #4
  5. Dave Felix macrumors 6502a

    Dave Felix

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    Scranton, Pennsylvania
    #5
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  7. wangkom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    I like the fact that is is $29.99. I don't like the fact that we won't get the option to get a dvd. I prefer to do clean installs, not upgrades...
     
  8. yakkowarner epi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #8
    I read somewhere that a server version is $50. Is the correct? And is that above the $30?

    And if so I was wondering if I should turn my mac mini into a server of some sort.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
  10. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #10
    There was nothing mentioned that you couldn't do a clean install.

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/whats-new/features.html

    Scroll down to "Internet Restore and Utilities". Apparantly, Lion installs itself first in its own partition. My guess is you'll be able to do a clean install from this partition just fine.
     
  11. David-fr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    What if you buy a new HDD? Or want to completely format it? This is getting messy.
     
  12. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #12
    Nah, just redownload it from the Mac App store.
     
  13. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #13
    You think they're going to release an OS without thinking about this? I'm sure we will find out more in due time.
     
  14. David-fr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #14
    Hopefully, but hey those are the ones that brought us MobileMe. Just saying..:rolleyes:
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    That's exactly what Steve said when introducing iCloud. :D
     
  16. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #16
    just remember you NEED at least a core2 duo or i3/i5/i7 ,
    the older core duos are left out because they are just to old to be able to run LION at reasonable speed i suppose ,as otherwise Apple would have included them in their minimum requirements for Lion
    but they are able to run lion ...just not fast
     
  17. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #17
    I don't see much of an issue on the manner of reinstalling the OS. The Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD is a full install, so if you're running SL, then you should have the DVD tucked away somewhere to refresh a new hard drive and then get to the App Store or iCloud to reinstall Lion without charge.
     
  18. dfine1966 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #18
    You miss the point, most people that want a clean install, don't want to have 2 operating systems on the computer, Lion on top of Snow Leopard. That is why it is called a clean install.
     
  19. Sebastiano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #19
    I'm in the same situation as the original poster. Would it be possible to download the OS from the App Store on another Mac running Snow Leopard and install it on the former running Leopard?
     
  20. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #20
    No.
     
  21. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #21
    It's more than a speed issue. The systems they left out are all 32bit processors. In other words, Apple put a stake in the ground and said only 64bit systems for Lion.
     
  22. Sebastiano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #22
    Surely then the trend will break and Snow Leopard will still be available after Lion is released?
     
  23. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #23
    Good question, as SL will be a required step to upgrade to Lion.
     
  24. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #24
    Don't see a point to be missed . . .:rolleyes:

    You'll always have the option for a "clean install" whether you're doing it from Tiger, Leopard, Snow Leopard.
     
  25. Sebastiano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #25
    Is it possible to download Snow Leopard or do I have to go to the Apple shop?
     

Share This Page