Upgrading to Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Oliver G, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. Oliver G macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hello

    I have a mid 2007 iMac with a 2.4GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 1TB HD, 256 Graphics running OS X 10.6.8, I was wondering if I were to upgrade to Lion would it slow down the computer at all?

    Regards
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    It Will

    A little....You might want to consider increasing your RAM....Up to 4GB, 8 if you can stretch to it.
     
  3. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #3
    Your specs are very similar to mine. I have 2.4GHz C2D, 8GB RAM, and 256MB nVidia 320m graphics and my computing experience in Lion is superb. I must mention that I have a solid-state drive as well, which probably helps as well. You can already run Lion on your machine now (2GB RAM and C2D requirement), but I'd recommend a RAM upgrade to enhance your experience. At least 4GB for a good experience.
     
  4. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    yes. 2 GB ram is not enough for Lion in my opinion.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    As others posted, you'll probably incur some performance degradation, max out your ram, or least as much as you can afford
     
  6. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #6
    This iMac maxes out at 6 GB RAM. I'd not settle for less than 4 GB, and I would consider 6 GB. Lion loves RAM.
     
  7. 50voltphantom macrumors regular

    50voltphantom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #7
    I'm running Lion with those same specs but with 4gb RAM and it works fine.
     
  8. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #8
    I agree with the others...you should be able to run Lion fine, but I would upgrade to 4GB of RAM. Otherwise it just won't run as smoothly as it should.
     

Share This Page