Upgrading to MacPro from C2D iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TomTomTuning, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. TomTomTuning, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    TomTomTuning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #1
    So here's the story...

    I've had a 2009 27" iMac since release. It's a 3.06GHz Core 2 Duo and for the most part it does what I need it to. Photoshop, Lightroom, iTunes Music, AirPlay, and web browsing.

    The biggest issue is expansion. I currently have 4 external HD's, 2TB Time Capsule and then obviously the 1TB internal. The external drives are a combination of FW800 and USB2.0... First off, I'm running out of space, so all of the drives pretty much need to be replaced with bigger ones or I need to add more drives to the equation. It's a huge hassle dealing with so many external drives, plus they're all slow.

    eSata and USB 3.0 would be AMAZING...

    So this bring me to my current predicament. I have someone interested in buying my iMac for about $1000, I think thats fair. I found a Mid2010 MacPro5,1 2.8Ghz Quad-Core, I currently offered them $1350 (waiting for response).

    I checked GeekBench results and my iMac gets 4141 and the MacPro I'm looking at averages at about 8850. So it's a respectable upgrade for a few hundred bucks. On the second hand I also need to invest into a nice monitor, so thats another 500-1000 depending if I buy new or used.

    Obviously the main reason for the upgrade would be for expansion. I can load up 4 drives internally, add a eSata card and get a 4xbay eSata enclosure for backups. I can also upgrade/add other items down the road as well (USB3.0, better GPU(s), more RAM, SSD etc).

    Anyway I guess my questions, is it worth the upgrade? I've been telling my self to wait till the MacPro gets a nice update but who knows when that will be. Plus I really dont have the money to buy new. Sorry for the long rant, just looking for advice.

    Cliff Notes: Should I upgrade from a 2009 3.06Ghz Core2Duo iMac to a 2010 2.8Ghz Quad-Core MacPro
     
  2. jfriesen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    BC Canada
    #2
    Upgrading to MacPro from C2D iMac?

    Let it be noted that the mid 2010 will not enable airplay in Mountain Lion Only the earlier 2011 and newer will be able to use Air Play option. Otherwise I would say yes its a good deal. As for a monitor even your existing TV may work nice on the Mac Pro with the right cables . Other than that get a good monitor
     
  3. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #3
    you can always get a long video cable from monoprice if you won't be able to use airplay. they make a mdp->hdmi adapter for a reasonable price that can take a toslink input too for audio and carry it all in one cable.
     
  4. TomTomTuning, Sep 20, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012

    TomTomTuning thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #4
    Do you think $1350 is a good price? The original asking price was $1500. Hopefully they accept my offer.

    I've seen a few sell on eBay with cosmetic damage for around $950-$1150. Mac2Sale doesn't list a 2.8Ghz 4core Nehalem but everymac.com says the value is $1900-$2100.


    I didn't realize their was a 2011 MacPro, I thought it was Mid2010 and then Mid2012.

    By the way I'm not referring to AirPlay Mirroring, I'm just talking about playing music from iTunes via my AppleTV. Can I still do that with the Mid2010 MacPro? It's not really a deal breaker but would sorta suck. :(

    I actually have a MDP-HDMI adapter that I bought for my 2010MBP but have only ever used it once. I also have airparrot.com but it doesn't work so great. My sister in law brought over her new MBA and AirPlay Mirroring was flawless with her computer, no lag/stutter at all.

    I really need a decent monitor for editing photos, I'm a photographer and my TV isn't the greatest.
    Anyway, I hope I hear back from the seller soon. The person buying my iMac wants to pick it up today. :)
     
  5. jfriesen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    BC Canada
    #5
    Sorry
    I should have been more specific about AirPlay mirroring. If mirroring is not a big deal then I hope that you get it for your price.
     
  6. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #6
    If I remember correct, not any Mac Pro does support AirPlay? Not even the 2012 ones, because I think the integrated graphics of the the sandy/ivy bride CPUs are required.

    I may be wrong.

    AirDrop is supported from Mac Pro 4.1 (Early 09) on, if you have a Airport Extreme card installed.
    I don't even hav an Airport card installed, my MP is connected via ethernet to my Time Capsule, onto which Apple TV accesses, and I'm able to play on Apple TV. So no worries dude ;)
     
  7. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
  8. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    No you need quick sync..

    Lazy Apple didn't code it for anything else.
     
  9. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #9
    And isn't quick sync based on exactly these sandy/ivy bridges?
     
  10. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #10
    Yes Quick Sync is Sandy/Ivy..

    but a MP has plenty of HP to for airplay..
     
  11. TomTomTuning thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #11
    I scored the MP for 1400, it's in incredible shape, no visible scratches or dings. Barely any dust inside as well.

    I have a MDP-to-HDM, so I'm getting ready to connect it to my TV since I don't have a monitor for it yet. If I had a MDP-to-MDP then I could use target monitoring on my iMac but I don't have that cable, plus the will be gone tomorrow.
     
  12. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #12
    sweet sounds like you got a great deal:) have fun!
     
  13. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #13
    Not quite sure why airplay wont play from the mac pro unless your talking about wireless mac pro to wireless ATV. I sold my mac pro's and built two dual westmere systems. Win7 64 on one with itunes streaming to my 3 ATV's through my apple router. 2 of the ATV's are 3rd gen, 1 is a 1st gen. The two 3rd gen use airplay without issue. I would suggest disable wireless settings on the mac pro, hard wire to your router and see if your ATV will sync. Shouldn't be an issue.
     
  14. TomTomTuning thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #14
    I can stream content from the MP iTunes to my AppleTV. I've confirmed this.
    It's not AirPlay mirroring but it's exactly what I used on my iMac previously, so I'm happy.

    On a side note, I knew the guy said the computer was about a year old. I figured I'll check to see if the original 1 year warranty was over, never know maybe I get lucky and I have some time to still buy AppleCare for it.

    GUESS WHAT!!! It has AppelCare already and until March 28, 2014. I'm totally cool with that.
     

Share This Page