Upgrading to SL - from a disk image? + genereal questions.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheInfrequent1, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. TheInfrequent1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    Is it possible to upgrade to SL on a Leopard machine using nothing but a disk image on my desktop? Or does it need to be from a DVD?

    Also, will I have to re-install anything? Or will everything that was there before still be there, but within 10.6 instead of 10.5?

    Sorry for the questions - not upgraded before...

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    Yes & Yes.
    I only checked & uninstalled incompatible apps & pref.panes.
    Upgraded my 10.5.8 from external disk image.

    P.S. search helps actually in a great way :p.
     
  3. TheInfrequent1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #3
    Okey, so can you confirm the answers were:

    • Its not a problem that I have the disk image on my desktop and not an external disk? No its not a problem.
    • And all my programs and stuff will still be there? Yes, only the OS changes, but check for compatibility of programs.

    Sorry, the yes and yes answer confused me a little.

    I did try searching, but can't find anything that says it's ok to use an image on the same disk that you're upgrading.

    Thanks again in advance!
     
  4. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #4
    Hi there

    Thought I'd mention that I tried it from a local disk image and it told me to burn it to a dvd first. I also tried it from my Time Machine via ethernet and wifi and neither worked.

    So am off to buy a double layer DVD R tomorrow :)

    Good luck - let us know how you get on!

    /Doug
     
  5. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    I'm sure it won't work, you need a separate disk or partition.
    You'll start from this partition (hold ⌥ at startup), and it'll ask which partition to install to.

    I take it'll be big mess if you install into installer's partition (if it even let you)
    And you can't start install from your current partition, as you'll have to restore image there first (it'll erase all everything)

    Best get external, restore your image there.
    Though I use local partition - it doubles as my diagnostic & small backups place.
     
  6. borcanm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #6
    If you have an image you can install it from your HD or an external HD or Ipod. If your installing from your HD you need a separate partition to which you can restore the disk image too.

    To partition:

    Disk Utility->Select you HD->click partition tab->click on the partition-> then click the + -> and now use the slider in between the two partitions to set the size for your new partition. Around 10g would be more than enough.

    To restore from image:

    Disk Utility->See your HD-> then select on of the 2 partition under it->Restore tab-> drag image to source-> drag partition to destination->click restore.

    This shouldn't take very long and from my experience it will install faster than from a disk.
     
  7. TheInfrequent1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #7
    Thanks for all the advice! I'm restoring it to a USB flash drive as I type - hopefully it will work!

    Will let you know :)
     

Share This Page