Upgrading to SSD, a few questions before.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jetblk328i, Oct 27, 2010.

1. jetblk328i macrumors 6502

Hey guys I have decided to go with upgrading my 13" MBP with a SSD. I did some research here but still have a few questions.

1. I have decided on the OCZ Vertex 2 ...I know we dont have TRIM but it has garbage collection, how will the speed degeneration fare?

2. Besides a small phillips, i need a torx t6 right?

3. I want to get an external enclosure for my old 250gb HDD, what should I put in here? for clarification, look at next question...

4.Obviously I will install osx, ilife, and iwork onto the SSD but what else is needed? As a student, I have powerpoints, and word documents, can I store them on my 250 gb HDD and still get effective speed or will I have to store them on my SSD as well?

know that your programs will open quicker when stored on an SSD but what about documents using that program? If they are stored on my HDD enclosure, will negatively affect the program opening from the SSD?

5. if I need to store these powerpoints and word documents onto my SSD for speed, what can I store in my old HDD?

6. How do I go about formatting and remove all the ilife/iwork/osx programs on my HDD so that it wont conflict with the data on the SSD?

Looking forward to SSD speed!!!

Thanks!

Jay

2. jetblk328i thread starter macrumors 6502

bump!

Can i just install the os and my essential programs like ilife and iwork for it to run quickly or do all my documents have to go on the SSD as well?

If I only need the OSX and iwork/ilife, then i can buy a smaller SSD(60-80) gb and save lots of money.

Thanks!

3. andymodem macrumors 6502a

Just got done installing my OWC SSD and Data Doubler. Put the OS/Apps on the SSD, and all media and documents, etc.. on the HDD.

4. jetblk328i thread starter macrumors 6502