Upgrading to SSD with smaller capacity, help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kb1200, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. kb1200 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #1
    Just put 8gb of RAM in my mid 2009 17" macbook pro but I also have a 120gb SSD I want to put in. The problem is that my existing hard drive is 500gb and almost full. Here is what I want to do: Put the OS, applications, email, etc on the SSD. Put all the music, videos, pictures, etc on the 500gb. I already have an optical bay adapter for the 500gb hard drive. I also have a 500gb hard drive (almost full) with time machine and just did a backup on my hard drive.

    How should I do this? I was going to use a cloning program to clone the OS on the SSD, but how do I get my music and things on the 500gb once I wipe it? Won't time machine just want to restore the 500gb drive contents on to the SSD?

    Basically I want to keep the 500gb hard drive as it is, but remove the OS from it so the computer doesn't boot with that hard drive.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. kb1200 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
  3. amit715 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Location:
    new york
    #3
    i used carbon copy cloner a few months ago and it works perfectly .i def recommend using that
     
  4. kb1200 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #4
    Can't use that, it won't tell me the size of things I am transferring. I've decided to do a clean instal on the SSD and use migration assistant. On my current hard drive finder says it is using 470gb, but migration assistant says I am only using 431gb. Anyone know why this would be?
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Because there are quite a few cache files and swap files that Migration Assistant does not move over.
     

Share This Page