Upgrading to VMWare Fusion 1.1 = Windows Reactivation?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by NomadicTy, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. NomadicTy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi!

    I just got VMWare Fusion running on my mbp with Leopard. I have set to use my Bootcamp install of XP. If I was to upgrade to this new version of Fusion, would I end having to reactivate my windows XP? I'd hate to chance it again. I've already activated it twice in two days -- once to install it into Bootcamp, and once to get it running with Fusion.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #2
    Happened to me. MAke sure you Activate and Register. I tried to skimp by and just activate, kick me out for too many activations. I went back and filled in my person info and it worked the second time. Maybe helps, maybe doesnt
     
  3. Jason S. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    If it's not OEM, you should be fine. You've already been able to activate it twice with no problem, I don't think they would give you any trouble if you needed to do it again. If they did, you can always call the activation hot line, speak with someone, and explain the situation.

    If it's OEM on the other hand, you might have a problem, but I don't really see how updating Fusion would affect the Windows installation. The only way it would prompt you to reactivate is if Windows detects a significant hardware change. And still, if you have problems you can call the hot line and explain. That's what I did when I needed to activate OEM Vista twice and they didn't seem to mind helping me.
     
  4. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #4
    OEM is not a problem either. I've reactivated my OEM XP at least a half dozen times since the whole bootcamp/parallels/fusion options have become available and I bounce between them. I just did it the other day I think because it was the first time in bootcamp since I had upgraded fusion to 1.1. Irritating, yes, a problem, no.
     
  5. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    I always have to call India now and get them to reactivate my Windows. It sucks... but not a big deal. Usually takes about 5 minutes.
     

Share This Page