Upgrading to Win7 from Vista Ultimate

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bubba22, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. Bubba22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #1
    Right now I'm running Vista Ultimate 32bit in bootcamp and am ready for a change. What I would ideally like to do is to switch over to Win7 64bit (in order to utilize my 4gb of ram) without having to reinstall all of my windows applications and games. Right now I'm really looking for the easiest and most efficient way of doing this (assuming it's possible to transfer between a 32 and 64bit operating system).

    What I had planned was to do things in this order:

    1) Clone my bootcamp partition to my external hard drive using winclone.
    2) Erase my bootcamp partition
    3) Install Win7 to the bootcamp parition
    4) Use the Windows Easy Transfer tool to migrate all of my vista files from the external hard drive over to Win7
    5) Hopefully enjoy a much improved OS with all my programs fully functional

    Please tell me if I have neglected something or if there are any potential problems along the way. If it maters I have an early 2008 Macbook Pro, 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, 8600m 512mb.

    Thanks.
     
  2. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    Hey, that's what I'm doing when I upgrade in a few weeks!
     
  3. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I'm not sure if you can transfer applications in thsi way. Files and settings aren't a problem but you may have to reinstall the applications.
     
  4. Bubba22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #4
    After doing a bit more reading I'm thinking I'm better off doing an in-place upgrade of vista. Now what I need to know is if this is possible (moving from Vista x86 to Win7 x64).
     
  5. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #5
    No, it's not. You cannot upgrade a 32-bit OS to a 64-bit OS without reformat.
     
  6. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    yeah im in same sort of place

    im thinking to have a clean system and everything i should really plan for a complete fresh win7 install....i have heard inplace installs are not always so great or reliable

    so i am trying to finish the games i have now so i dont have to reinstall so much :eek:
     
  7. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Do a straight upgrade to W7 32bit and don't worry about the extra few hundred MB of RAM. When W7 is fully released you can decide if it's worth the trouble of doing a clean install to 64bit. No point reinstalling everything twice.
     

Share This Page