Uploading from WD My Passport onto new Macbook Pro...HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ambergma, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. ambergma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    #1
    HELP!! I am new to Macs. I am replacing and old Dell PC Laptop with this awesome Macbook Pro but I can't figure out how I can upload the files that I saved on my new WD My Passport 1TB external drive onto my new Mac. With the PC it automatically loaded "WD Smartware" onto my computer but it didn't load it onto my Mac.

    HELP! How can I upload and use all of the music, MS Word, PPT, Exel and photo files onto my new Mac?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    "upload" is normally used when using an internet connection and loading a file up to that internet.

    What you describe is "copying".

    Anyway, how is the HDD connected to the Mac? Does the HDD show up in Applications / Utilities >/ Disk Utility?


    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  3. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #3
    Did you use the WD Smartware software to back up the PC? If so, that's where you went wrong. The Smartware on that MyPassport isn't compatible with the Mac. You can plug the drive back into the PC and drag the files you need to the drive, then you can get them off the drive onto the Mac.

    Just an FYI, you won't be able to copy TO that drive from the Mac, you can only read it on the Mac.
     
  4. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #4
    Forget.....

    the WD software, that can be Windows-only....Try to clone the drive to your new shiny Mac with CCC....Good luck with it....


    :):apple:
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    Are the WD My Passport drives still usable on the Mac as long as you ignore the WD software amd format it GUID/osx extended? I'm looking for another backup drive and iomega seems to be gone.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Yes, they are.
     
  7. g35 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #7
    I formatted my new WD My Passport as FAT. It works seamlessly between OS X and Windows (no software required) except FAT can't be used with time machine, need to make an HFS partition for that
     
  8. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #8
    Except if the OP is copying from a Windows computer to the Mac, why would you CCC the Windows drive and is CCC even available for Windows?

    Yup. I have a 2 TB MyPassport drive with a 500 GB ExFat partition and a 1.5 TB partition for TM. It's a "normal" one, not a "For Mac" one. I highly recommend using ExFAT rather than FAT for multi-OS drives as ExFAT supports file sizes over 4 GB but is also read/write on Windows AND OS X.
     
  9. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #9
    The OP.....

    had stated he o she have the files already in the WD drive....

    :):apple:
     
  10. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    Yes, I read that. You then went on to suggest trying to clone the drive using CCC, which is not possible or desirable as the old machine is a Windows machine.

    From your previous post:
    In what context is that suggestion being made? To clone from the WD to the Mac? If the files were copied using the WD software, CCC won't help. If they WEREN'T copied using the WD software, I don't think there would be much confusion.
     
  11. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #11
    I assume....

    the files are copied correctly in the WD drive. So, was in that situation I advised to clone the WD contents into the Mac.....
     
  12. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Why not just use migration assistant or file sharing

    If you haven't really set up anything you can't lose on the new Mac then grab yourself an extra Ethernet cable and plug the two machines together. Download the windows migration assistant from apple's website, install and start it on the PC.
    On the Mac! locate the migration assistant program in the utilities folder of your applications. Start it up and follow the prompts to set up a transfer from a PC.

    It will likely take a good 4/5 hours if not more so do it when you don't need the computer. But it will grab your files and put them in the right spots for you.

    It will do it as a new user so then you log out, log into that one and you can delete the first one.

    If you have set up things the way you want you can also turn on file sharing and run a connection to your Mac and hand copy your docs, photos etc.
     

Share This Page