Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Solntse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 12, 2019
Hi everybody,

I need your advice to take a decision concerning my Macbook pro.

It's a brave 15" from april 2013 with the following specs :
- 2,7 GHz Intel Core i7
- 16 Go 1600 MHz DDR3
- Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 Mo
- New battery and GPU changed by apple (there was a problem on the mbp of this generation)

I'm an illustrator and I use it daily and intensively with Adobe suite - mainly photoshop + illustrator / indesign, Toonboom Harmony and a Cintiq 24. Often with many softwares open. Travel a lot with it for the last 6 years.

Until recently it worked perfectly fine, fast without bugs but about 6 monthes ago it began to slow down significantly.
- Takes longer to save and open psd files
- Takes longer to do all the usual photoshop transformations
- Slower on all other tasks
- Unexpected black screens which bring me back to the opening session screen
- Takes a loooooong time to start.

I would'nt mind for a private use but for work it's a problem.

So I'm considering uprading to the 16" (1T / 32G / i9 2.3 Ghz / 5500M 8G) for another 6 years - hopefully - but I wonder if I could give first an extra 1 or 2 years to my present macbook by changing the current 500 G SSD for a more recent 1T, and wait for the 2nd generation of the 16" with all the possible bugs fixed.

Do you think this could give a significant boost to my computer and it's worth the price ? Or do you think the slowness depends probably on too many factors and I won't see a difference so I should invest in the 16"

Thank you all for your answers and advices.

Sanpete

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2016
Utah
If you think you can use the new SSD in an enclosure with a new setup, won't really hurt anything to go ahead and try it on your 2013 first.

Reactions: Solntse

Solntse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 12, 2019