UPS Delivery Change - Hold For Pickup

Discussion in 'iPad' started by BlueKhufu, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. BlueKhufu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #1
    Obligatory apology if I missed this asked elsewhere.. Has anyone changed a UPS delivery to either pick up at a UPS Store ($5 charge if you're not a paid member) or to pick up at Will Call at a UPS Customer Center?
    My UPS driver's typical route puts him in my neighborhood around 5pm, and that's going to be a long day reading everyone's impressions while I sit in the window like a kid waiting for an ice cream truck to drive by..
    UPS site says "Packages are usually available by 8:30 a.m. on the scheduled day of delivery" which is awesome... except that "usually" part.
    If you have used it, how was your experience?
    Thank you.
     
  2. Bigyella macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    I get daily shipments from UPS. My new iPad is coming UPS. I ALWAYS pick hold for pick up at my local hub. But with my regular shipments, they have the UPS , hub address on the package instead of my address to insure they get held. If I request a hold, that has my real address, they miss it sometimes, and it gets put on the truck for delivery. I know the UPS personal at my local hub very well, they know me and my name as well. Its 50/50 shot to hold, but thats what I am going to do. I plan on leaving town that day, and don't wanna sit around waiting on a truck before I leave. good luck.
     
  3. BlueKhufu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #3
    I wouldn't mind if they accidentally put it on the truck and I got it later in the day. My worry is the change would delay it and I wouldn't get it until Monday. Can you imagine the HORROR?!?! ;)
    Thank you for your input, though.. I think I'll change to Hold for Pickup.
     
  4. Buildbright macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #4
    Or they might lose it and you could be out an ipad until you have Apple replace it. It happened to me once.
     
  5. BlueKhufu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #5
    Ack! Did you use the will call or the UPS Store pickup option?
     
  6. edtorious macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #6
    I now have the option to change my delivery but I'm afraid to do it as per the other posters here have said of what might happen to my iPad. The only reason I'm considering this is because my UPS always make late afternoon :mad: delivery but then somebody said on another thread that since our UPS delivery is UPS Worldwide Express, they should be delivering the package before noon :). Which made me think that all those time the UPS delivers late in the afternoon was a UPS Ground type shipping, which probably is the difference, I've never had UPS shipped Worldwide Express before so I'm hoping they are true.

    And so I might incline to just wait for it instead of changing my delivery options for it might mess up the delivery if I change it now ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 1080p macrumors 68020

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    I wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot poll. Things are gonna be so hectic over there with this launch, I wouldn't want them misplacing my iPad.

    I am just glad mine is coming FedEx.

    UPS typically comes later on my route and FedEx is usually earlier.

    During the iPhone 4S launch, I had UPS and didn't get my package until almost 9pm! It said, "By end of day" for that delivery.

    FexEx is a more reliable. With my tracking saying "By 3pm", I believe it!
     
  8. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    FedEx also comes around my neighborhood earlier in the day. FedEx arrives around 9:00AM while UPS doesn't drive by until almost 5:00PM.
     
  9. Buildbright macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #9
    Will call. But I have had a UPS store "misplace" packages before too.
     

Share This Page