UPS for iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by reddevil0728, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. reddevil0728 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #1
    What should I look out for when getting an UPS for iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) and any suggested UPS I should be getting for this?
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
  3. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #3
    Don't exactly know what specifications to look when it comes to UPS... How do I know whether the UPS I am choosing is sufficient for the iMac? do i look at the VA or W? how much VA and how much W is sufficient for iMac?
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    The "wattage" and "VA (volt x amps) ratings are both supplied and differ by the power factor of the UPS. For computer calculations, the "watts" are the number you need, and depends on how much of a load you want to power, and for how long. The max power consumption for the 27" iMac is 240 watts (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201918), but you may also have some disk drives, network modem, scanner, printer, etc which can contribute to the load.

    Generally, unless you intend to continue working during a longer power outage, you don't need to power these from the UPS (other than the disk drives) and can simply plug these into the "filtered" outlets. You don't want to put a Laser printer on the UPS due to the high startup current which can trip the monitoring circuits. You select the UPS size based on how long you need it to run on battery power and allow a "safety factor". I pick size to hopefully bridge short power outages and then let the UPS signal my computer to gracefully shut-down so no data is lost. So I look for one that is twice the max load or so (i.e. around 600 watts for the iMac). I like "sine wave" rather than "stepped output" waveforms because most computer type power supplies are happier with that and prefer those with power correction for low or high voltage conditions. Of course, normally your computer system isn't running off of the UPS at all, it is connected through the UPS to the line power. The UPS only comes into play in the event of a power failure.

    You can select a higher one for longer run time if needed. I have bigger ones on my satellite TV recorders so they will continue to record for several hours in the event of a long outage (don't want to miss my favorite shows :) ). I also make sure that the satellite antenna and all distribution amps are also running from the UPS power. You may want to keep your routers and modem powered if you intend to work during the outage ... but keep in mind that the outage may affect your internet connection (cable, etc.) too, and you have no control over that.
     
  5. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I use a 1500VA model with my 27" 5K. It also handles my Drobo 5D, WD USB3 HDD and cable gateway (modem+router).
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    Yeah ... that is also a popular size.

    I use a APC SmartUPS 1500 on my cMacPro and that is also the one I have on my satellite TV recorders. I have several of them and they have been running for years (although I have replaced the batteries on each one once).
     
  7. vmflapem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    #7
    From what I've read before, I realized most people use a 1500VA model. I'm only going to be using a UPS for my router and my maxed out 5k imac. In this case, would I be OK with the 1000VA model? I only need this to prevent unfortunate data loss when there's a power outage.
     
  8. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #8
    Yes ... A 1000VA is fine
     
  9. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #9
    Get the W part, but still unsure about how to decide on the VA part. Like whether I should get 1500 or 1000. Like how do I know.

    Will be solely using it for the iMac. Cause have all along been using a laptop. Transitioning to a desktop now so not use to have no battery as backup for graceful shutdown.
     
  10. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #10
    Just use the watts rating ... The VA really doesn't apply here.
     
  11. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #11
    You mentioned yo choose something that is twice the max load. in this case for 600 watts, how long can it last by just powering the iMac alone
     
  12. vmflapem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    #12
  13. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #13
    Under max iMac power draw, the 600 watt will probably run for about 20 minutes or so ... but you are probably at the "idle" power draw if you aren't actually using the iMac, so then it would probably last a couple of hours or so. I like to have mine shut down the system gracefully when the UPS battery reaches 50% of capacity if I am not actually there using it (then I can shut it down manually any time I want).


    The other 900 watt (1500 VA) will probably run 30 minutes ... but that is running the iMac maxed out! You probably aren't running the iMac at max unless you are gaming or processing video. If you need longer run time, you need to buy one with more battery capacity such as the APC SmartUPS 1500 which is much larger and has 2 huge batteries in it.
     
  14. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #14
    [​IMG]

    this is what I see on the pricelist from one of my local retail store, it doesn't state the W but only the VA. do I have to like go google each and everyone of them to see the WA or is there a way from me to tell which 1 is suitable for me from just the VA
     
  15. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #15
    You could probably take a rough estimate of 40% off the VA to get the watts. But they probably have similar PF, so I would simply pick a 1000VA (or 1500VA if you see expansion in your future).

    What is it that you want from your UPS? Do you have a need for a long run time on standby power while using the iMac computer? If so, look for a 1000VA (600w) with a larger battery for longer run time at that output.
     
  16. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #16
    as mentioned previously...

    "Will be solely using it for the iMac. Cause have all along been using a laptop. Transitioning to a desktop now so not use to have no battery as backup for graceful shutdown."

    so it's more like just to give me time to shut it down.
     
  17. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
  18. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #18
    I don't stay in the states hence it wouldn't make sense for me to ship it, and I doubt I can find that locally.
     
  19. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #19
    Do you have online retailers that you can order it from or are you stuck with local retailers?

    A quick google of those listed gives you the wattage information you need. for instance, I googled apc back-ups bx1100ci-ms, which gave me this link Back-UPS BX800CI-MS, BX1100CI-MS Specification Sheet and that shows the BX100CI has a wattage of 660 watts. Half of what @hfg is running with, but sufficient to give you time to shut down the iMac

    The Apc br1500gi is another nice it appears at 850 watts.

    Just do some googling on those you listed to find the one you think will fit your needs.
     
  20. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #20
    Pretty much stuck with local retailers.

    yep, I just wanted to know if there's a quicker way to convert VA to W rather than googling.
     
  21. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    There's some stuff on the net, but its not a simple calculation. I think its in your best interest to do some leg work, and its not that difficult, since you have some of the info already.
     
  22. reddevil0728 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #22
    yep definitely will, just wanted to find out if there's a quick way of getting a ballpark figure before doing more specific research
     
  23. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Technically Volts X Amps = Watts, but for some reason VA does not seem to equal Watts (in a number of cases). So to be sure, you'll need to do some googling. Good luck
     
  24. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #24
    OK ... I did a quick Google search and this was at the top of the list and probably has more info than any of us wants to read, but look at the first couple of paragraphs:

    http://www.power-solutions.com/watts-va


    BTW: with many UPS units that connect to your computer with a USB cable, you don't have to be available to shut it down ... you can select how/when your computer shuts down in the event of a lengthy power failure. Pull up your SystemPreferences/EnergySaver/UPS/ShutdownOptions and set what you want. I have mine set to shut down when the UPS battery reaches 50% just to avoid draining the battery and possibly shortening its life.
     

Share This Page