UPS for mac pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by trainguy77, May 10, 2007.

  1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    I am thinking of buying a UPS for my mac pro. It has 2 HDs and a 20" will also be on it. I want one that has software for mac. I don't need much run time just long enough for it too shut down and thats it. What would you guys recommend. I don't want something terrible expensive. The power voltage here is very good so i don't know if i need one that regulates voltage as my voltage here is just fine.
     
  2. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #2
    Monster makes some really good ones, but they're hella expensive. Belkin makes some that are the same spec as the stupid Monster ones, at half the price. Both of them will likely have Mac software.
     
  3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    Plus, if you order from Belkin, enter the code "12345" to get a sizeable discount. ;)
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Get one with AVR.

    Doesn't matter that the voltage seems to be good, if you are protecting against power problems and blackouts -- it'll be a dice roll to see if you get nailed by power spikes/undervolts preceeding a blackout that cause your machine to shut down very ungracefully or the UPS actually catches quickly enough to give you 3-5 minutes while it is shutting the machine down.

    Usually I will see the lights flicker or change brightness before a blackout, hardly ever a no notice blackout.
     
  5. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #5
    UPS's are rated in voltamps (VA) or kilovoltamps (KVA), an indication of power for a certain amount of time versus draw.

    For most desktop systems, 450-900 VA is more than sufficient to save your work, shut down, and have no worries. You should expect 30-45 minutes minimum powering a tower PC and monitor.

    Any APC unit is outstanding, I highly recommend them (http://www.apc.com/products/category.cfm?id=13&subid=5). I specifically recommend against Monster, as they trade their name for price, and none - and I mean NONE - of their products is that superior or worth nearly the prices they charge. (I expect a cease-and-desist notice from Monster's attorneys anytime now, they are litigious bastards...)

    Oh, remember to replace the batteries every 18-24 months, and don't run a laser printer through your UPS!
     
  6. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Yeah I have bought 2 APC server rack mount units for work but never for home. So APC has mac software?
     
  7. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    Just out of curiosity, why is it a bad idea to run a laser printer through a UPS?
     
  8. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #8
    Its a large power drain.
     
  9. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #9
    Gotcha. Thanks!
     
  10. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    So I am thinking either the APC Back-UPS ES USB 650 or the APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD your thoughts?
     
  11. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #11
    If your lights are already blinking or dimming the damage is already happening though. So no matter the computer or your area it is always worth the money to have one.

    Kevin
     

Share This Page