UPS shipping waypoints?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Panzo, May 2, 2010.

  1. Panzo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    #1
    LOUISVILLE, KY, US 02/05/2010 8:28 ARRIVAL SCAN
    ANCHORAGE, AK, US 01/05/2010 21:21 ARRIVAL SCAN
    01/05/2010 19:41 DEPARTURE SCAN
    SHANGHAI, CN 02/05/2010 5:25 DEPARTURE SCAN
    02/05/2010 2:45 DEPARTURE SCAN
    SHANGHAI, CN 30/04/2010 21:23 EXPORT SCAN
    CN 29/04/2010 7:13 BILLING INFORMATION RECEIVED

    It has to be delivered in canada.

    Excuse me if im wrong but why in the world would you ship the package from anchorage in ALASKA (which is basically canada.) to kentucky in the us?

    Why China => Alaska => US => Canada

    When they could China => Alaska => Canada.

    WTF ?
     
  2. stevespa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    No kidding. Mine is going to Canada too, check this out:

    LOUISVILLE, KY, US 01/05/2010 11:17 DEPARTURE SCAN
    LOUISVILLE, KY, US 30/04/2010 9:13 ARRIVAL SCAN
    ANCHORAGE, AK, US 29/04/2010 18:36 DEPARTURE SCAN
    29/04/2010 11:49 ARRIVAL SCAN
    NARITA, JP 29/04/2010 21:49 DEPARTURE SCAN
    29/04/2010 20:03 ARRIVAL SCAN
    SHANGHAI, CN 29/04/2010 17:48 DEPARTURE SCAN
    SHANGHAI, CN 28/04/2010 16:00 DEPARTURE SCAN
    28/04/2010 1:43 EXPORT SCAN
    SHANGHAI, CN 27/04/2010 14:56 ORIGIN SCAN
    CN 27/04/2010 1:43 BILLING INFORMATION RECEIVED

    It left yesterday from Louisville sometime, but hasn't arrived anywhere yet. Original delivery was by 4-May (Tuesday), but it updated later and said 3-May (tomorrow!) and now it doesn't have a date at all. Seems like a lot of cost, but I'm sure someone has worked this out to be more efficient.
     
  3. cyclical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    I believe UPS has one of their main hubs in Louisville. Next hop should be to Mount Hope, Ontario, and then to Concord (if you're in Toronto).

    Here's mine:

    Code:
    [FONT="Courier New"]
    LOUISVILLE, KY, US     01/05/2010  	11:17     DEPARTURE SCAN
    LOUISVILLE, KY, US     30/04/2010        9:13     ARRIVAL SCAN
    ANCHORAGE, AK, US      29/04/2010       11:49     ARRIVAL SCAN
    NARITA, JP 	       29/04/2010 	21:49     DEPARTURE SCAN[/FONT]
    
     
  4. singhjeet29 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    Damn Mine just got its first Departure Scan in ShangHai ... it still has so far to go :( (yup Canada)

    Also OP why did your Mac arrive before it left ShangHai?
     
  5. cyclical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    They scanned it but it hasn't actually departed, as there's usually no movement during the weekend. Probably won't depart until later today (Sunday).
     
  6. aelias80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    #6
    Bc UPS' main hub is KY. They can't accommodate each package to go via the optimal route (Asia - Anchorage - Canada). It is like flying commercial, sometimes you need to go through a hub even if that means fly over your destination, companies can't have airplane flying to every single point in the globe. The shortest route in this case is not the most optimal.

    That's the only way they can process 84 packages a second, or 416,000 per hour as compared to have hundreds of thousands of planes flying all over.
     
  7. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    You seem to be good at math. In the three years since this thread had a reply, how many time could the computer have been delivered?
     
  8. B... macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #8
    Ba dum ching.
     

Share This Page