Ups

Discussion in 'iMac' started by milesc3, May 25, 2014.

  1. milesc3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
  2. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #2
    BackUPS 650. I lost power once in the middle of a backup, and I was able to finish the bu and shut down normally. Without it, I might have lost both the internal and BU drives. And a BackUPS CS 500 for my peripherals. I could get by running everything off the 650, but splitting them up insures that I'll have enough juice for everything to finish whatever I'm doing.

    They work so well I even have a BackUPS CS 500 for my TV and DVD player. I think they're invaluable. Everyone should have one.
     
  3. rambo47 macrumors 6502a

    rambo47

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Denville, NJ
    #3
  4. Nuke61, May 25, 2014
    Last edited: May 26, 2014

    Nuke61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
  5. milesc3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #5
    I understand the new IMAC is using a PFC power supply and that any UPS that doesn't provide a pure sine wave while on battery can be problematic. The APC backups doesn't offer a pure sine wave while on battery but their more expensive models do. Thus the reason for my question.
     
  6. macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #6
    APC 'Smart-UPS'. Best accessory I ever got for my Mac.
     

Share This Page