Urgengt: LPIRQ is compressed!!!???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amir-a, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. amir-a macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #1
    Hi All,

    I faced a problem while booting up Windows 7 on my macbook pro.

    I used the option: "Compress drive to save disk space" in windows (Accessible by: Right Click on the Drive Icon > Properties). Basically it encoded files on the windows drive the way they take up less space on disk (Said Captain Obvious:p)

    The problem started when I restarted the laptop and now I am seeing this error message when I select to boot windows.

    LPIRQ is compressed
    Press Ctrl+Alt+Delete to restart

    Does anyone know how I can decode the files in windows drive back to normal knowing that I don't have access to windows at the moment:(?

    Thanks A LOT:)
     
  2. dtjay7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    N. CA
    #2
    You may want to post in the "Windows on the Mac" part of the forums. It seems like it may be a better area for your question. Just a suggestion
     
  3. amir-a thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
  4. amir-a thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #4
    But apparently the thread (at Windows on Mac) has been deleted :confused:
     
  5. pscraig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #5
    In general, Windows drive compression is a BAD idea. I have had problems with it since Windows 95. But the problem is recovery, and with Windows 7 we finally have a decent method:

    1. Start your computer from the Windows 7 installation DVD or Repair CD. (Hold down C while booting Macbook)
    2. Select Repair your computer.
    3. Load driver.
    4. Go to Computer and right click drive where Windows 7 is installed.
    5. Select Properties and uncheck "Compress drive to save disk space".
    6. Close and restart the computer normally.

    Note this will decompress your Windows hard drive partition and may take quite a while.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    You can't create more than one thread about the same issue. That is stated in the rules, maybe have a read, if you have the time.
    If you see, that you created a post or thread in the wrong place, just use the REPORT BAD POST button ([​IMG]) on the left side of your post and ask a mod to move the thread or delete the post.
     
  7. amir-a thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #7
    Tnx a ton. I'll try and post the result:)

    Gotcha. My bad :eek:
     
  8. amir-a thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #8
    Thank you pscraig!

    The solution worked perfectly fine.
     

Share This Page