Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DennisBlah

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2013
The Netherlands
Hi all,

I have an app in the App Store, which certificate is about to expire. (regarding push notifications)
What's the best way to renew this certificate ?
- Do I revoke the current one, and generate a new one?
- What will happen with the app in the App Store? Will it be unusable, do I need to re-upload the app as in.. 'new version'

Nothing changed to the app as it works like my customer wants it.

I really need some advice on this, as this is my first time.

Thanks in advance!

DennisBlah

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2013
The Netherlands
nobody has a clue on this?
I know that I can revoke and make new certificate without breaking the app in the store, but will it automaticly take my new certificate for the push notifications

Of course, I will regenerate new PEM files for server-side

sorry for bumping

Mascots

macrumors 68000
Sep 5, 2009
The certificate isn't embedded into your application, so after creating a new one and then deploying it to your server, you should be good for future and previous iterations of your apps - you are free to revoke the existing certificate without any effect.

The new certificate will just need to be bound to your Apple ID Developer Account and the app's Bundle ID, as it should be anyway, and you will continue to receive notifications as expected.

Reactions: DennisBlah

DennisBlah

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 5, 2013
The Netherlands
The certificate isn't embedded into your application, so after creating a new one and then deploying it to your server, you should be good for future and previous iterations of your apps - you are free to revoke the existing certificate without any effect.