URGENT FIX REQUIRED - Sonnet Tempo Pro 2010 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pierre1610, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. pierre1610 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    I've had a Sonnet Tempo Pro with 2x OWC 480GB 6G SSDs RAID0 installed in slot 2 of my 2010 6 core Mac Pro for the past year. It's worked flawlessly with Lion and Mavricks. Nothing has changed at all with the hardware setup but today the Volune isn't visible in finder and none of the drives are visible in disk utility.
    The system report shows there is something in my PCI slot 2 but it seems to be in there twice. Listed the same name but in slot-2@8,0,0 and slot-2@9,0,0

    I'm not sure if this is normal behaviour for this card or not. If anyone with this card could screen grab their system report under PCI cards and post it below I'd appreciate it.

    Even better would be if someone has a solution. It's a work machine so need to get it sorted ASAP.

    Thanks
     
  2. h9826790, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    You have the Pro card. There are 2 chips on the card, that's why there are 2 separate AHCI controller on the same slot.

    My card is the non Pro version, so only one controller shows up in the system profile.

    Screen Shot 2015-02-07 at 02.44.53.jpg

    Is it possible for you to put those SSDs in the HDD bay's SATA port? The SSD is so light, just insert them into the slots for a short period of time without any other support is OK. Or you can just use a tape to secure them in the machine. This will let you know if the SSD still working or not.

    At the same time, you can remove the card. May be blow the dust away.

    If the SSDs are fine, you can then re-install the card again and check if the problem still there.
     
  3. pierre1610 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. I've taken the ssd's off the card and reseated them. I've also removed and re-installed the card. Amazingly there was little to no dust on either the card, drives or logic board. I have a couple of 2.5"-3.5" adapters so can put the SSDs in them and put them in 2 of the standard sata2 ports to test them. I was a little worried I might break the RAID and loose the data if I did that though.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    The software RAID should be quite reliable actually. Insert the SSD into another SATA port should not cause any issue.

    I did try to play around with that, put 2 USB stick in RAID 0, and eject/insert them into different USB port, no problem at all.

    And this is the quickest way to find out if the SSD still working or not.
     
  5. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    might be easier just to pull ODD sled and plug them in there
     
  6. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #6
    This is what I would do.

    Any luck?
     
  7. pierre1610 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Place your SSD in the compartment (sled) where your Optical Disc Drive (ODD) currently resides.
     
  9. pierre1610 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #9
    Thanks for your replies.

    I have tried both drives from the Sonnet Tempo board in adapters plugging into the standard sata2 slots. Neither drive appeared in my disc utility or my system report. Is it possible the Sonnet Temp board has fried 2 SSDs?
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Sorry to hear about that, but so far didn't heard any SSD killed by Sonnet card yet.
     

Share This Page