Urgent help needed, new MBP and is stuck on creating account/ setting clock

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by NStocks, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have just this minute received my replacement MBP and just entered my new account name and password in the setup wizard, and now it's just stuck on the 'Create your account' page. there is a wheel ( not the ball ), saying setting your computer's clock

    What should I do, wait even longer, press the power button ?

    NStocks
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Are you connected wirelessly? If you aren't, pull out the network cable - that'll cause the attempt to connect to be aborted, and it should just take you to your desktop.
     
  3. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
  4. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Sounds like it can't get an internet connection. Before hitting the power button, do you have physical access to the wireless access point you're using to connect? If you do, then do this:
    • Warn all other wireless users that they will be briefly disconnected
    • Unplug the access point
    • Wait until your Mac gives up
    • Plug the access point back in
    • Synchronize the time manually from System Preferences
     
  6. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I have unplugged the internet connections and router for 15 minutes, and that has done nothing, it's still go tthe same page and the wheel is still spinning around...

    What should I do next?

    NStocks
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    At this point I'd just hit the power button. If the setup assistant comes up again, see if you can just skip the connecting to the internet part.
     
  8. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Thanks, that has taken me straight to the desktop. I know it's probablly easy, but how do I set up the wireless,... just go to system prefrences ?

    EDIT: I have automatically being setup to the wireless network.

    Thanks for your help
     

Share This Page