URGENT: Need Help W/ Installing Momentus XT

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tydog07, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Tydog07, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

    Tydog07 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #1
    I have just cloned the drive using carbon copy cloner onto my new 500GB momentus XT, I then tested the drive with target disk mode and it seemed to work just dandy. When I installed the drive into the macbook pro, I booted it up and all I got was a blank white screen, no apple logo or anything, what did I do wrong?

    To help for troubleshooting purposes, here is what I did:

    1) Installed XT drive into enclosure
    2) OSX recognized and formatted the drive
    3) Used Carbon Cloner to clone internal HD to XT (For some reason the XT has a little bit less than 1GB more free space than the internal HDD when it finished)
    4) Tried it in Target Diskmode, it worked
    5) Swapped drives out, white screen with no apple logo on bootup.
     
  2. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #2
    Did you install it correctly? I don't mean to be rude, but is it properly connected? If so, then put in the OS X install disk and run diagnostics and see if the HDD is recognized
     
  3. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #3
    If that doesn't work I would try a reformat + clean install.

    A clean install is always better for performance.
     
  4. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #4
    I'll try the diagnostics and report back here.

    I rather not, how would I get all my data back?
     
  5. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    A Time Machine backup might have worked better for a new OS install.
     
  6. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #6
    Yeah, I might reinstall the old drive and do a time machine backup and restore when I put the new drive in.





    I'm running the apple hardware test as we speak, when I check the hardware profile, I didn't see anything about the hard drive in there.
     
  7. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #7
    I'd put the original HDD in an USB enclosure and manually transfer the data over.
     
  8. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #8
    Well I could do that, I have an enclosure for the purpose of putting my old hard drive in there, but it is firewire 800, does that make a difference because you said USB.


    When I boot up the drive, what button do I have to push to format the drive and re install Mac OS X?
     
  9. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #9
    Put the DVD in and hold C while booting. Use the disk utility to format the disk.

    Firewire is even better.
     
  10. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #10
    I decided to put the original drive back in, I will be out of town for the next 3 days and don't want to mess anything up by rushing it, not to mention, I have the 8GB ram upgrade coming tomorrow and I'll install that with the harddrive on Thursday. But it sounds like when I should do the following.

    1) Back up my original hardrive using timemachine
    2) Swap out the drive and install OSX via the DVD
    3) Once installed, do a time machine restore


    Does this make sense, at what point can i go ahead and put my old HDD into the enclosure and format it?
     
  11. Philflow macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #11
    I don't know because I have never used Time machine. I manually transfer data.
     
  12. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #12
    Instead of doing the install and then restore, you can go do a restore when you boot up with the OSX install disc. Go to Utilities and then select Restore System from Backup: Recovering Your Entire System (from Time Machine).
     
  13. getz76 macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #13
    Are you sure you formatted the drive correctly? It should be formatted with a GUID partition table.

    Carbon Copy Cloner should work fine. I have done it dozens of times on various systems.
     
  14. Tydog07, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #14
    Have things changed with Lion?

    I just got back from my trip and I'm downloading/installing lion today, so will that help anything?

    I have tried to format my time machine external hard-drive and although I have 90GB free on my Internal HDD, time machine says that I don't have enough space, what gives? How can I format my external hard drive and then do a backup?

    I'm going to format my new momentus xt drive and reclone it once lion has been installed onto my internal HDD. The only reason I'm doing the time machine backup is because I don't want the chance of losing any data, but I'm finding it to be a major obstacle. Please help! I couldn't get it right last time when I tried re-cloning all the data and swapped in the momentus xt hdd.



    EDIT: This is what is shown currently for my Momentus XT that has been cloned and is attached via fw800 in my enclosure (see any problems?):

    FireWire Bus:

    Maximum Speed: Up to 800 Mb/sec

    Unknown Device:

    Manufacturer: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro mini
    Model: 0x0
    GUID: 0x30E009E012859C
    Maximum Speed: Up to 800 Mb/sec
    Connection Speed: Up to 800 Mb/sec
    Sub-units:
    Unknown Unit:
    Unit Software Version: 0x10483
    Unit Spec ID: 0x609E
    Firmware Revision: 0x301
    Product Revision Level: 0Pro
    Sub-units:
    Unknown SBP-LUN:
    Capacity: 500.11 GB (500,107,862,016 bytes)
    Removable Media: Yes
    BSD Name: disk2
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Not Supported
    Volumes:
    Capacity: 209.7 MB (209,715,200 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk2s1
    New Hard Drive:
    Capacity: 499.76 GB (499,763,888,128 bytes)
    Available: 18.18 GB (18,175,610,880 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk2s2
    Mount Point: /Volumes/New Hard Drive
     

Share This Page