Urgent problem with MBP. Need quick help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zysq, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Zysq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #1
    I bought a MBP 15' a few days ago and was getting to know it( it is my first mac). I wanted to change the System folder to be unreadable for users and after doing that my Macbook stopped working so I restarted it and it loads up to a blue screen and seems to be loading forever. What should I do?

    Please help me with that issue.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. Zysq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #3
    Is there no other solution? I have so much valuable data on it that this would be painful.

    EDIT: Is it possible to reinstall the system without losing the data on HDD?
     
  4. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  5. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #5
    yes, but since your new to mac i wont be explaining it today.

    this is the default behavior.
     
  6. Zysq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #6
    @mulo

    If you dont want to help, don't do it. I said I need that help urgently as I'm leaving abroad tommorow and need to have the laptop working.

    And I didn't get your "default behaviour"

    @topic

    Someone kind enough to explain me how to deal with this problem?
     
  7. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
    ill cut it in cardboard then: reinstall the os, you data wont be deleted, as has been stated, twice.
     
  8. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #8
    I think you need to boot to single user mode and rename. Did you rename the System folder?
     
  9. Zysq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #9
    @alexprice

    How can I boot into single user mode?

    Sorry but i'm completely new to the Mac world.:)
     
  10. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #10
    Hi,

    Restart the Mac, when the screen goes black, hold down CMD and S

    Let go of the keys when you see a black screen with white writing.

    Then at the command prompt type:

    /sbin/mount -uw /

    Then type:

    cd /

    Then:

    mv systemfoldername System

    (Replace systemfoldername with actual name of current system folder)

    Then restart by typing:

    reboot

    I hope this helps :)
     
  11. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #11
    Please tell us what you did in the first place?

    This WILL help. :)

    Alex
     
  12. Zysq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #12
    All right I used the disc utility on the Mac OS X install CD and that helped.


    THanks for help though, really.
     
  13. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  14. Zysq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #14
    Yeah, it's all fine. I'm writing from my Macbook now :D

    And thanks again !
     
  15. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #15
    I think what most people meant were in good faith; it is easy to come off as sarcastic on forums when it is not meant in that way. When he recommended doing the reinstall, what he meant was in your situation, that is the typical solution (the default behavior=techy term). If you are not familiar with OS X, going through a gazillion steps is more than likely going to be frustrating. Also, since you are leaving to travel and the current config shows that there is an issue, wiping everything and reinstalling the OS gives you the best chance of taking care of everything.

    I would still reinstall. And above all, be sure to back-up all important data. Apple's OS X allows you to use a feature called the 'Time Machine' in which you can make backups allowing you to literally skip back to how the machine was at a previous date. Another feature, Carbon Cloner, allows you to make an exact copy of your hard drive. Now, you do need an external hard drive for this, as putting backup data on the same drive makes no sense
     
  16. alexprice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #16
    Well done :) Glad to hear..

    (Still interested to know how you managed this :) )
     

Share This Page