Urgent - Spilled Coffee On Keyboard - Not All Keys Behaving Correctly

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dandaman2, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. dandaman2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #1
    hey Macrumors...
    I just spillt my coffee on my macbook keyboard. The spill was localized to my keyboard, fortunately, and no other components were affectes, which is great. All my letters and numbers are 100% there. Some of my punctuation is a bit off - my apostrophes become semicolons, for example, I don:t know what to do. I:ve also got a bunch of other odd problems going on but only when holding down shift. I removed my ram and reinstalled it as part of my clean. Because a lot of my punctuation issues only occur with modifier keys, I think I might have broken something during the deep clean )I was messing with RAM, etc...0 but I:m not to experiences with hardware repair.

    What should i do??? Do you think it really is software and updating my keyboard firmware will do good? should I go to iFixIt and pick up a new keyboard? given a guide, I could do the repair myself if it comes to it.

    My backup plan is to do a full heart transplant - pull the HD and put it in another computer. I love my alumium macbook though, and I hope it doesn:t come to that.

    Did I mention that I'm a student with a major paper due in the near future? Suggestions would be great, suggestions soon would be greater.
     
  2. dandaman2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #3
    I didn't wait because I figured I'd rather replace the keyboard than fail the class and am currently using an external keyboard.

    Are you sure I'll need a new keyboard? I'd agree, but I'm only having issues when certain punctuation keys are used with the shift key. One idea I had was to find an advanced keymapper and fix the problem keys with software. While I mentioned that I was willing too, I just looked up prices, and $300 is steep for a student.

    Does this solution seem viable or am I being delusional?
     
  3. mac88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA.
    #5
    Delusional. You will need a new keyboard. Good luck!
     
  4. dandaman2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #6
    As a consolation, will you at least try to explain to me why the keys are behaving so erratically? I don't see how a key can work normally without the shift key, how 26 letters can work normally regardless of shift, but when I hold down "shift" and "comma" I get "asterisk."
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  6. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #8
    Is it possible to remove the keyboard? If so, you might try soaking it in distilled (!) water, then drying it very very carefully before putting it back together.

    Obviously this is risky but it can often be done. Do not use tap water because impurities can be left on the electronics.
     
  7. dandaman2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #9
    Well, I will try this too then. Thanks. I'll buy the part so that if that doesn't work, it will be simple enough to reassemble with the replacement. If I don't need the part, I will return it.

    Sorry if I was being a little bit annoying. I am under a little pressure and I hope you will all understand.
     
  8. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #10
    Good luck. If you do try the distilled water, make sure you don't rush the drying process. The keyboard needs to be absolutely dry before you turn the power back on. Give it a few days. You can try keeping it in a bag of uncooked rice (the rice absorbs moisture) or find some silica gel (those bags of "DO NOT EAT" that you get with some products).
     
  9. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
  10. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #12
    Since it's a unibody Macbook to replace the keyboard you have to replace the whole top case. Standard price is around $250, not including labor.
     
  11. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #13
    Oh that sucks. OP replace it already.
     
  12. dandaman2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #14
    I'm in the process of tracking down a part. I'm actually considering bringing it to Apple. Apple quoted my last repair - a broken LCD - at $800. I bought one for $200 and DIYed it. At first I expected a similar markup for the keyboard, but I was searching through macrumors and Apple's price might not be as bad as I originally thought. If an unbacklit top-case on iFixIt is $200 and the repair through apple is $300, I will consider going through apple.

    I've started the disassembly already and I've run into issues already. I don't have the best tools and the screws strip real easily. I have a genius bar appointment tomorrow and I'll decide what to do once I get the quotes.
     
  13. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #15
    Absolute alcohol makes more sense than distilled water and in one of the more highly recommended fixes for spills.
     
  14. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #16
    Sorry about your woes, but keep us posted on what happens for you
     
  15. dandaman2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #17
    I've been to the genius bar. The display wasn't working - I must not have reconnected it fully - but even so they decided it would be a Tier 4 repair - shipped out to Texas for a flat rate of $800+. Which I'm not doing. They can do the keyboard (plus unibody) for I think $350 plus labor and tax but they can't do partial repairs. My mommy offered to pay for that (go ahead and laugh) so I'm leaning towards getting that display running and sending the computer off for a little bit.
     

Share This Page