Urgent VPN Help

Discussion in 'macOS' started by covertsurfer, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. covertsurfer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #1
    I have a iMac 3.06 and have a work VPN connection. I can easily connect to it but I cannot use any computer names on the network, it has to be the ip address. This is really annoying because I have to keep going back to my Windows laptop because "that just works!".

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    How about if you use the full DNS name of the computer you're trying to connect to?
     
  3. covertsurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #3
    Which is what?

    If I ping [computer name] it says unknown host
     
  4. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #4
    Did you set up your Mac's VPN connection according to the settings provided by your IT dept.?
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Whatever your companies DNS is.
    Because it cannot resolve it simply by name only, it needs the full DNS name I imagine.

    If you ping a system from your Windows laptop which you say does work, what exactly do you get back?
     
  6. covertsurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #6
    Yes, it connects fine (to a windows server) its just i cant ping the computer names although i just tried it on a domain machine and i had to do ping [pc name.domain name.local] which worked however i can't get it to do it for pc's not on the domain but just in workgroups
     
  7. covertsurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #7
    I get a reply and all is well and i can connect to things like intranet at http://pcname rather than http://192.168.0.111
     
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    "pc name.domain name.local"

    It's the real details of that you need to know and use.

    If the computer you're pinging is called FRANK, in order to ping it from OS X over VPN you'll need to enter it's full DNS name, this would be FRANK.domainname.local.

    edit: Can you give me an "ipconfig /all" from your Windows computer (run from command line)?
     
  9. covertsurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #9
    Yup, that worked but not sure how you do it for seperate PC's on their own workgroup?
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    You have to add the DNS suffix to the DNS suffix search list.

    In OS X this is in Network Prefs somewhere under the network adapter config.

    In Windows this is under the Advanced TCP/IP Properties of your network adapter.
     
  11. covertsurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #11
    Just tried and no luck.., on my vpn connection i click advanced and then clicked the dns tab, there is a greyed out ip address which is the internal ip of the vpn machine, on the write is domains so i added [domainname.local] but still no luck
     

Share This Page