URGENT: Wipe all data from iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by danny_w, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    I am about to sell my iPhone 2G. Can I use MobileMe's Remote Wipe to clean the data? Will this affect the SIM card? I want to take the SIM card out and use it unaltered in another phone (not an iPhone). Will I be able to do this after performing Remote Wipe?
     
  2. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    Why wouldn't you just plug it into Itunes and hit restore to default :confused: I think that might be better :)
     
  3. xIGmanIx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #3
    if you actually own the handset and have physical access, why not do it on the phone itself?
     
  4. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I didn't know you could do it that simply; I know you used to could not. So does restoring via iTunes really wipe out all of my data? It used to leave many traces lying around; there have been may articles about this.
     
  5. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #5
    Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings should be your friend, otherwise a remote wipe should do the trick. I have no idea how it will affect your SIM card.
     
  6. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    No, a wipe won't affect the SIM.
     
  7. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Thanks. I had read everywhere that data could be recovered easily after doing this, but maybe that has been improved in 3.0 (I hope so anyway).
     
  8. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    I did the "Settings>General>Reset>Erase All Content and Settings" thing and it says it will take about an hour.
     
  9. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #9
  10. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    No, not Pandora, but a few others (all free).
     
  11. sfditty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #11
    I suspect Remote wipe or "Erase all content and settings" don't really do a full wipe, though they may be good enough for your purposes. I say this because "Erase all content and settings" used to take a little over 2 hours to complete- I know this from experience. I did both "Erase all content and settings" and a remote wipe on my 3GS last week to get rid of a problem that a restore couldn't fix. Both took apparently no time, despite the "two hours" warning before running. Also, there used to be a progress bar to indicate how far in the wiping process the iphone was, but in 3.0 there is no progress bar.

    The two methods in 3.0 are identical as far as I know, it's just that one can be run remotely. But to actually wipe the data, the way 2.x did, it simply can't be done nearly instantaneously. It takes time to overwrite the entire flash memory (save some basic operating system components) several times, the way 2.0 did.
     
  12. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    I just did the "Erase all content and settings" tonight (I am running 3.0) and it took about an hour (and it did indeed have a progress bar).
     

Share This Page