Us (at&t) Iphone Unlockable In Europe?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Sirving55, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Sirving55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #1
    Hi
    I've just returned from a trip to the USA and I live in Sweden. I left my Iphone on a bus whilst travelling in the US so I bought a used Iphone there on Craigs List which is locked to AT&T. I have limited knowledge on unlocking an Iphone and have tried RedsnOw but no success? I'm assuming that I am going to need to source and buy an AT&T sim card from the USA and then insert that into the phone, before I stand any chance of trying to unlock it for use in Sweden?:confused:

    Any help would be very warmly received as I am currently without a mobile phone.:(

    Kind regards

    Stephen

    If you can reply to my email also that would be great!!
    (Sirving55@yahoo.co.uk)
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    need info what phone do you have? firmware version? 3gs up do you have shsh saved?
     
  3. Sirving55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #3
    The phone is a 3GS Iphone but I don't know about the firmware?:confused:
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Find out the firmware version.
    Settings/general/about.
    Were not psychics.
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #5
    I am but it's hazy I can't make out his firmware but I can see that he has no SHSH saved. hope he is bad about updating firmware.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  7. Sirving55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #7
    I can't get past "Emergency Calls Only", so have no access to the phone interface to check the firmware? This was my original point, do I need an AT&T sim card to get past the emergency calls only point? :confused:
     
  8. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #8
    Go to an AT&T store and tell them you damaged your SIM. They'll give you a replacement. Either that, or get a prepaid AT&T SIM; it's sold in various stores.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Yes, you will need an AT&T sim to activate it thru itunes and get into the homescreen.
    You can buy an AT&T sim on ebay for $1-2 each.
    Even inactive AT&T sims will do the trick and get you into the homescreen.
     

Share This Page