US Robotics USB Modem not work El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Pinarek, Sep 18, 2015.

  1. Pinarek macrumors member

    Pinarek

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Location:
    Germany-Berlin
    #1
    Hello

    My MBP not work this US Robotics USB Modem an USB2.0 Port in El Capitan GM
    in Yosemit work fine. Have you Help Tips for me please.
    Thank You.
     
  2. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #2
    Do you happen to have a USRobotics (or other brand) hardware modem around, with a serial port (DB9 or DB25)? If so, an inexpensive USB->Serial adapter should work with that. Make sure you get the Prolific PL-2303 chipset, which is available in various brands of adapters. I like the Plugable one.
     
  3. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #3
    Are you talking about an old dialup modem?? Wow, I have not used one of those in more than a decade! (maybe 15+ years!!)
     
  4. Pinarek thread starter macrumors member

    Pinarek

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Location:
    Germany-Berlin
    #4
    The problem was successfully solved by the way, since El Capitan 10.11.4 running the "old" beautiful Modem as on day 1
     
  5. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Ah, the good old days... 2400 baud modem, terminal type vt100, that classic handshake sound, etc. I remember when I got my first 14.4 modem, what a speed demon THAT thing was!
     
  6. Pinarek thread starter macrumors member

    Pinarek

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Location:
    Germany-Berlin
    #6
    PieTunes....

    No, it is but is not sent therefore with what speed a fax .. the unit at that time in Graves (Apple dealer) cost about 65 euros, and I then bought it with Mac OS Snow Leopoard. And I sometimes have to send faxes from time to time (I know that there are also fax services online) I want to use it on. also to use the only reason why I am pleased then purchased hardware on .. why should I throw it away when it then now is still running?
     
  7. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Hey I wasn't knocking anything, I was simply waxing nostalgic of the good old days of dial-up. This thread was old and the response resurrected fond memories is all. I'm glad your hardware is working, whatever that hardware may be.
     
  8. Pinarek thread starter macrumors member

    Pinarek

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Location:
    Germany-Berlin
    #8
    It's just a pity that it the sounds DialUp unfortunately can not hear on Mac OS.

    There is no speaker settings as for the modem. Under Windows 8.1 and Windows10 can hear this dial tone. Didl ... Didl.. Di ... and so on until the connection with the remote fax tone is then produced and the speed is but at least at 14,000 KB/s. Some modems can only 9,600 KB/s transfer.
     

Share This Page