USA Mini in UK

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by JWalker1995, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. JWalker1995 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #1
    Am going on holiday to America this Summer and as mini works out as £380 I really don't know how I can refuse :p Especially as it's comes with lion.
    Onto the real question, how easy/hard is it to make it work in the UK and what would I have to do to make it work?

    Thanks
     
  2. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
  3. JWalker1995 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #3
    Can these be bought in the apple store or where do I get it from?
     
  4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #4
    This guy asked a similar question a few years back.

    My first ever MacRumors post. :eek: And as I was told then and as MTI says now, switch the cord and you'll be fine.
     
  5. JWalker1995 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #5
    Where do I get the new cord from your all talking about and what does it look like
     
  6. Tombs macrumors regular

    Tombs

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey England
    #6
    Out there myself in 2 weeks time and will be doing the same thing, bought an iPod and iPhone from the states and have had no problems with either power or warranty when back in the good 'ole" UofK
     
  7. japtor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #7
    I think it's a standard two prong power cord these days. If you look at the connector on the back picture here you might know what type of cord I'm talking about. Should only be a few bucks/quid/pounds/whatever, you might even have one laying around your house.
     
  8. rogan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
  9. JWalker1995 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    #9
    Funny guy ^
     
  10. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #10
    This is assuming the built in PSU is multi voltage. It may not be. If it's not you will also need a transformer which would neither make it practical nor worth it. If the PSU was external it would be a non issue as you could just replace it with a UK PSU. I would suggest making sure it's multi voltage before buying it over there. Also unlike the laptops, iPads and iPods the warranty may not be worldwide. Another thing you have to make sure of.
     
  11. occamsrazor macrumors 6502

    occamsrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #11
    According to Apple it is:

    http://www.apple.com/macmini/specs.html

    Line voltage: 100-240V AC
    Frequency: 50Hz to 60Hz, single phase
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    Ahh !!! OK I didn't know that. In which case it must be just like the PS3 which has an internal PSU which is multi voltage. My PS3 is American but it runs just fine directly off the mains power here in the UK. If the warranty is worldwide then it's a no brainer.

    In which case if I was going to the US this year I would also be tempted to pick one up. That's one thing that's annoying about UK prices is the big difference with the US. I know sales tax is included here in the form of VAT and in the US it's added on but even then they work out cheaper over there.
     

Share This Page