Usage of an External Monitor - What is Your Setup?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by D-Man18360, Feb 12, 2009.

1. D-Man18360 macrumors member

I'm interested in the idea of a MacBook, but would like to have a much larger monitor when at home.

For those using an external monitor, is it just a case of having the MacBook to the side of the monitor which is directly in front of you? Or do you have the monitor on a stand to prop it up higher?

2. Vogue Harper macrumors 6502

Vogue Harper

3. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

A dual monitor is very productive! I'm a Uni student and it allows for a lot more multi tasking on screen! Documents, web pages, videos, projects.

I tend to have:

Space 1: MSN an random folders documents on my MBP screen, and my external for firefox and a document.

Space 2: Purely for mail and calender, one on each screen.

Space 3: iTunes, VMware fusion, iWeb

Space 4: For a free space environment with limited distraction lol.

Don't forget how expose makes it so easy to find what you are looking for on screen anyway!

4. polaris20 macrumors 68020

[​IMG]

This works well for me. 24" LCD with a the MBP.

5. Beric macrumors 68020

Beric

I've got my 24" off to the right of my Macbook right now, sitting of 4 beanbag cubes, with a fan pumping air out of under it, and an eternal keyboard and speakers. Works just like a desktop.

6. D-Man18360 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the updates - I'll take a look at that picture thread when I'm at home.

I will admit now that I wasn't even thinking about using an external keyboard - I was so focused on using the MacBook's keyboard and figuring out how to have the screen up and looking at a different screen that I missed the most obvious fix.

Thanks! Maybe I need some coffee this morning to get my brain in gear.

7. Narcosynthesis macrumors member