USB 3 card for Mac Pro.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DELTAsnake, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. DELTAsnake macrumors 6502

    DELTAsnake

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm looking for a USB 3.0 card for my new Mac Pro so I can use a WD USB 3 hard drive. From forum feedback it looks like the Lacie and Caldigit are designed for use with there own drives only. Are there any USB 3.0 cards for a Mac Pro that will work with any hard drive I plug in?
     
  2. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #2
    Caldigit can be used with any USB 3.0 manufactured drive. The pci card is slower than a windows box with on board usb 3.0 though although still noticeably faster than usb 2.0.
     
  3. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    I don't see how that could be true - there's no such thing as "onboard" USB 3.0 on any Intel motherboard. Manufacturers are using the PCIe bus to provide a port, so logically that wouldn't be faster than using a card here would be.

    And that's the primary reason why it hasn't been included in Mac Pros yet - Intel doesn't include it on their motherboards, and  hates that kind of workaround solution.
     
  4. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #4
    USB3? Ugh, why bother? Firewire 800 and eSata are both much better solutions for external hard drives.
     
  5. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I'd love to hear why!
     
  6. rtrt, Dec 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  7. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #7
    My original point still stands, then. It's not inherently faster. If it's drivers, then that's a driver issue. And  has not written drivers, so you're standing on the drivers done by a third party...which can be iffy.
     
  8. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #8
    other cards - use lacie

    seeing this thread, I tried something out.
    I bought one of these on discountages ago:
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815150161

    it didn't work in my box until I just downloaded the drivers from Lacie and gave them a go. BAM. It works.

    This card used a NEC chipset (what ever that means) and I guess so do the Lacie ones.
     

Share This Page