usb condensor mics

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by nickjalder, Jul 31, 2007.

1. nickjalder macrumors newbie

nickjalder

hey all

i'm looking to record my acoustic guitar and vocals on my mac.

i'm not going super professional but i'm looking for better results than simply plugging my guitar direct into garageband.

now i've been told that a usb condensor mic would be suitable for what i'm looking to do, has anyone else used one and agrees? can you recommend one?

if not is there another way that i am missing. ideally i dont want to have to use external sound cards and mics, but if this is my only option then feel free to let me know.

thanks guys
    nick

2. odinsride macrumors 65816

odinsride

Condenser mics are good for recording acoustic, but many of them require an external power source/phantom power. Also you'll most likely need some kind of recording interface to hook it up to your computer. I'm no professional or anything but I've read that using two condenser mics simultaneously is the key to getting the best recording quality out of an acoustic guitar.

3. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

You'll get by fine with one mic. The Blue Snowball is the best option on the market for you :)

4. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

USB mics take care of all that. not that i've ever heard a USB mic track i've liked, but that's another story.

well, i don't know about *that*, but you do bring up a good point about lack of flexibility when using a USB mic: when you want to record two mics, now you've wasted your entire "investment".

5. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

i'm issuing the USB mic challenge: someone please post or direct me to something recorded w/ a USB that will pass my "goodness" test (whatever the heck *that* test is).

as i mentioned above, i've yet to hear a USB mic track that i thought was good. now, i have unfavorable opinions of them both because of that, AND i don't think it's possible to offer a good solution at that price.