USB data lost due to Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by alicepw, Jul 12, 2017.

1. alicepw, Jul 12, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2017

alicepw macrumors newbie

alicepw

Hi

I saved a large number of files (7000 - I'm a teacher) to my USB stick from my work computer (Windows).

Today I put the USB stick in my Mac and saw only a black rectangle with the name of the USB stick and I couldn't open any files.

I returned the stick to a Windows computer and found that the files had disappeared and in their place was a 'shortcut' to the files which didn't work.

I put the stick in another Windows computer and first ran a virus check before opening it. The virus checker checked all the files, even naming them. But still I can't access them.

Are the files lost or is there another way of finding them? They are no longer on my work computer so really hoping there is! :(

Many thanks in advance!

2. Nigel Goodman macrumors newbie

A common problem I saw when helping university students in the lab was that when they brought their work in from their Windows home computer they had copied the Shortcuts rather than the actual file. Do you think this is what you have done (it's very easy to do by mistake)? Did you check that the files you copied were the real files rather than the Shortcuts? Are you sure they are not on your work computer - or did you delete them? Are they in the Recycle bin?

Sorry, so many questions, but if you accidentally copied the Shortcuts rather then the real files they should still be on the work computer, unless you deleted them from there.

3. alicepw thread starter macrumors newbie

alicepw

Hi thanks for your message but I don't think so as when I go to Properties it says the disk has 15GB of data on it although nothing shows in the viewing pane.

I always check the files are on the USB when I transfer them.