Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

angelvallejo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2009
Madrid, Spain
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MAc.

When using PC, WINDOWS warned about not to disconnect USB/FW connected hardware until you ask the system to do so and the system confirmed it was safe to do so.

However, I've been told that with Mac you can directly connect/disconnect the cables without any previous confirmation from the system.

I'm confused, since I can not find how to get confirmation form the MAc that it is safe to disconnect the USB/FW.

Thanks in advance and sorry for this (I guess) pretty simple question.

Angel

BlueRevolution

macrumors 603
Jul 26, 2004
Montreal, QC
You should always eject a drive prior to unplugging. This is essentially the same as Windows' "safely remove" command. You can do this in a number of ways:

• Selecting the drive on your desktop and going to File -> Eject
  • Right-clicking on the drive and doing the same
  • Clicking the little eject button beside the drive in the Finder sidebar
  • Selecting the drive and pressing command+E

They all work in exactly the same way, so whichever works for you. Personally, I prefer command+E.

Attachments

• Picture 2.png
    Picture 2.png
    56.7 KB · Views: 72

angelvallejo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2009
Madrid, Spain
Usb Disconnection

Thanks a lot, BlueRevolution.

I'll do so,although I believe that the USB device (LINE 6 TONE PORT UX1) does not appear on the list of devices...)

Thanks again and best regards

Angel

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
You eject the harddrives (FYI you should wait a few seconds, after the drive spin down to power off).

Non-storage devices (printer, scanner, etc) don't need software disconnection and thus have no need to show up.

angelvallejo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2009
Madrid, Spain
hi, blue revolution and consultant.