USB hub and iPod not enough power!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by newboy4128, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. newboy4128 macrumors newbie

    newboy4128

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    33.283534, -96.571851
    #1
    I am currently using a Belkin 4 port USB hub (model f5u021) and when I connect any of my Ipods (Nano video, and Mini) is tells me I do not have enough power to run device.

    When I plug it straight into the iMac no problems.

    Question... Is this normal or do I have a crappy hub?

    I am betting it is a crappy hub here is a link http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Merchant_Id=&Product_Id=93743

    I do have the AC adapter plugged in.

    Any input would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    Unfortunately, I haven't found a USB 2.0 hub that will properly power a high power device, whether they're inexpensive or expensive.
     
  4. chatoyer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    Te Wai Pounamu, New Zealand
    #4
    Really? Do you mean an unpowered hub? I ask because I've had great luck with my 7-port Dlink model:

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=149
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    I don't have any unpowered hubs, so no, that's not what I mean.
     
  6. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    I have some cheap bus-powered USB hub that Helio was handing out at some concert and it powers my iPod just fine. All depends on what brand and model you have. I've got some POS thing for free and it appears to work better then the one you got.
     
  7. newboy4128 thread starter macrumors newbie

    newboy4128

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    33.283534, -96.571851
    #7
    Forgot to mention that yes it is plugged in with an AC adapter.
     
  8. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    make sure that you do not have the switch set to bus but set to AC. Other than that, it should be good enough to power the iPOD. Also a possibility is that the AC adapter has gone bad and now the hub is pulling bus power down. Also, what else is plugged into the hub? That might be an issue as well.
     
  9. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #9
  10. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #10
    So what if it's 6-8 years old? I have a 5 year old one that works just fine.
     
  11. newboy4128 thread starter macrumors newbie

    newboy4128

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    33.283534, -96.571851
    #11
    Thanks for all the input I think I am going to just get a newer one.
     
  12. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #12
    I think that particular hub is prone to failure. I remember having 2 or 3 of those over time and they have all failed. I now have this really rad one but cant seem to find anymore like it.
     
  13. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    i have the same problem, I have a Targus one and i get a message saying its low powered.
    SUggestions on a new hub?
     
  14. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #14
  15. Joey1806 macrumors newbie

    Joey1806

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #15
    Here's the thing.. A few months ago, my mom washed my jacket with my iPod Classic 80GB with it..:(

    So after bringing it back to the Apple Store, they checked, and the warranty ended.. So I think it's the battery problem cause when I plugged it in on my iBass speaker, it powered up.

    I was wondering if I could format it to use it as a hard drive.. But when I plugged it in on my MacBook, the screen flashed and it went dead..


    So the question is :
    1. Is my MacBook's USB Port not powerful enough? Can I boost the voltage or whatever that is?
    2. Can the Battery-Dead-iPod be used as a hard drive?

    Any reply or links is highly appreciated...

    Thanks in advance.
     
  16. hitman45400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #16
    Maybe the problem is because it was washed?
    Heh.
     

Share This Page