USB hub for TC?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Smileyboy, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #1
    I bought a bilking USB powered hub, but the TC won't see it. Any recommendations?
     
  2. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    Do you have any devices connected to the hub?
     
  3. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #3
    Yes a external hard drive which has its own power source..... But it doesn't work when connected without a USB powered up.
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    Sorry, I'm a little confused. Did you mean it doesn't work without a USB hub? Or did you mean that it works without the hub, but doesn't work when you connect it through the hub?
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    Is the external drive formatted correctly? Has the TC been configured to have AirDisk enabled?

    The AEBS has enough juice in the USB port to activate a USB hub. Not sure if it has enough juice to power a typical USB-powered hard drive. Some of my external hard drives use two USB connections (one for data, one for power) to properly function. I have to connect the AC adapter on my hub for these drives. My larger external drives have their own separate power connection and will function without the hub being powered.
     
  6. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #6
    My USB hdd needs a USB powered hub. Otherwise the TC doesn't see it.... That's why I was thinking of moving to a Ethernet hdd.. Would that be faster more stable?Thoughts?
     
  7. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #7
    Not sure if a ethernet HDD would be faster or not. Do they make them in 1000T flavor? If not, 100T is theoretically slower than 802.11n. But then again, it's been said that Apple's USB port on the routers are pretty slow.

    With that said, why not buy a powered USB hub? You can get them for $10 or so. Wouldn't that be easier than buying a new hard drive?
     
  8. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #8
    I bought a Belkin 4 port one from bestbuy and it didn't work. I just ordered a higher powered one... We will see. With a gigabit Ethernet enclosure how can I go wrong?
     
  9. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #9
    What kind of external hard drive are you using? Is it a Gigabit Ethernet NAS? What specific make/model is it? What format is it? Does it work connected directly to the computer via USB? Does it work connected directly to the Time Capsule via USB? If it's a NAS, why not connect it to the Time Capsule with an Ethernet cord?

    Belkin is a good brand in my experience. The hub should work with a Time Capsule and a USB HDD formatted as HFS+, though it could be possible that you have a defective one.
     
  10. Smileyboy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #10
    It's formatted and works with a friends USB hub. But not the one I bought from bestbuy recently..
     
  11. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #11
    Ah, I see. Then yes, a different hub is your best choice. Hopefully the one you ordered works well for you. Good luck!
     

Share This Page