USB Hubs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cameraman67, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. cameraman67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi There,

    I have tried to use USB hubs with my G5 but seem to loose connectivity and cannot access my printers or scanner. Does anyone know a specific process of linking them up?

    Regards
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Try not to use more than 1 hub per port on your computer; otherwise I don't think it matters.

    Some computer also have finicky USB ports (my MBP certainly does!).
     
  3. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #3
    I've had really bad problems with the power supplies on the cheapo chinese hubs - leakage current. It crashed my Mac Pro whenever I tried to plug it in. I tested the amount of leakage - 46 vac @ 18 microamps. So be careful, and like the other poster suggested, use only one hub. MHO
     
  4. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #4
    Are you using a powered or passive hub? Just asking b/c you don't state which kind you are using.

    If you are using a powered hub then it could be a bad power supply or USB cable (to computer from hub). Also try plugging the hub into a different port. Sometimes it's just a ghost in the machine messing things up.

    If you are not using a powered hub, that is your problem. Passive hubs are only useful for low powered perifs. like keyboards, mice, SD card readers. You need a powered hub (one that comes w/ a power supply) for nearly everything else.

    Also some hubs have passive/power switches so make sure the hub is switched to power. Even if you have it plugged in to a wall outlet if the switch on the hub is set to passive, it's powering itself from the computer.
     
  5. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #5
    I have one of these and it shoves in nicely under the curved handles near the back of the comptuer :) I put some felt on the bottom so its in by a touch of force :)
     
  6. dazed macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #6
    ive got that dlink hub for my mac mini. sometimes the keyboard doesnt work but unplugging and replugging in solves it.

    not sure if its a keyboard or hub problem. anyone else experience this?

    its no biggie, just slightly annoying :)
     
  7. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #7
    I've used this 7-port rosewill USB hub

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182057

    with G5 tower (dual-core 2.3GHz model), 1st gen Macbook Pro, June 2009 MBP without any issues.. I am still awaiting delivery of my new 2010 MacPro, but its seems like a quality HUB at a easy price, so I suspect it will work well with the new MacPro as well.

    I have an EPSON R1900 and Canon 5600F, iPhone, Wacom Tablet hooked up to it 24/7 and never had a single issue with disconnects. Plus it seems to play nice with putting the computer to sleep and not randomly waking the computer due to USB events (like I had with previous cheap-o hubs)
     
  8. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #8
    I have to do that with my X keys all the time every time actually !!! HMM maybe move it to the front ports to try see if it happens ? I dont reboot to often so no biggy but yeah it happens I guess since X keys are a keyboard of sorts :)
     
  9. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9

    Happened on my 2008 and now my 2010. Even plugged directly in to the mac. The mac needs more direct usb plugs plain and simple. Only 5 is ridiculous.
     

Share This Page