usb modem?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by shiunn, Mar 4, 2009.

  1. shiunn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi,
    I've got some very beginner questions, that I don't know where to start searching answers for by myself. Hope you can help me out here.

    Basically, i'm trying to have internet connectivity for my laptop on the move. I am aware of tethering options for my iphone 3g, but I think that will just heat my phone up during prolonged use. Is there anything that I can buy, like a usb modem, so i can plug in my simcard into my laptop?

    Also, just to hear it for myself, those o2 usb modems for mobile broadbands, they HAVE a simcard in each and everyone of them right? that's how they work isn't it?

    thanks!
     
  2. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
  3. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #3
    ah, forgot to mention i'm in UK, so using O2.

    i think i'm gonna go ahead and risk asking a stupid question. I was looking at o2 mobile broadband's page, and wondering if that E160 usb has a simcard in it. If it does, can i swap it out for my iphone's simcard?

    Thanks
     
  4. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    All USB modems have got SIMs in them. You can remove this SIM and put your iPhone SIM in it, but check with O2 about how much data you get bundled in there. Also check data costs outside your data bundle
     
  5. goosnarrggh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #5
    Sure does.
    Reference - see page 2
    Don't know for sure, but probably.
     
  6. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #6
    ooh! thanks for the manual
    does anyone know if it will work with iphone's 3g's simcard? do i need any extra settings?
     

Share This Page