USB Port Additon on ATV2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by TerryJoyce, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. TerryJoyce macrumors member

    TerryJoyce

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hey All,

    I was one of the first to get an Apple TV 2 and I have just been looking at buying another one. I was looking at the photos. Yes I know I have one and I know what it looks like but I was wondering when did the USB port on the back appear???
     
  2. sandyjmacdonald macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #2
    Didn't it always have a micro USB port on it? It's for "service and diagnostics" only, according to Apple.
     
  3. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    Yup.. If you decided to jailbreak your ATV, thats the connection you'd do it with.
     
  4. ThemacNub macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    So if you jailbreak you can watch movies directly off of an ehd?
     
  5. APlotdevice, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011

    APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #5
    No. The USB port on the back of the 2g Apple TV is a slave type. Meaning the same kind that's on devices such as an external hard drive. And you can't plug a USB slave into another USB slave.
     
  6. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #6
    How do you know you were one of the first to get one? Just curious...
     
  7. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #7
    The first Apple TV 2 Users Group meeting was very poorly attended? ;)
     
  8. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #8
    Nice..... :)
     
  9. TerryJoyce thread starter macrumors member

    TerryJoyce

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    When I said one of the first I mean one of the first to buy. I think the ATV2 was taken with mixed reviews about the fact it only came with 720p and not 1080p.

    Also the meeting was very small yes. The same as the queues on the release date for it.

    Back on point. I never realised it was there. It has been obscured from view by the HDMI cable plugged in the back. I hope when they bring out a new version that they can just do a software upgrade and it turns ATV2 into 1080p. I would hate to have to spend more money on getting 1080p.
     
  10. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #10
    fwiw, the atv2 has only 256 mb of soldered ram the same as the atv 1. Getting it to render 1080p to the display is gonna be pretty tough w/out a major ios rework imo.

    Also unlike the atv 1 as was mentioned above the usb port on the atv 2 is only a slave. So even software hacking won't work afaik. Its a hardware limitation.

    Just my .02.
     

Share This Page