USB thumb drives for iPhone and iPad

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by laragheast, May 8, 2016.

1. laragheast macrumors member

Hi Guys
    is anybody using usb thumb/flash drive for holding videos on to play on iPad and if so
    what make and model please i need to buy to some external storage for my iPad .
    Thank You

2. Nhwhazup macrumors 68000

Nhwhazup

I have been using the Airstash for a couple of years, mainly for document storage from work that I can easily access from my iPad and iPhone.

3. sparksd macrumors 6502a

I tried the Leef iAccess on my Air 2 and found it unsuitable to the extent that I went through three of them before getting a refund from Leef. Lots of problems with it not being able to see/access more than a couple of mp4 videos loaded on it and it was very slow. The associated app was pretty poor, too. For accessing USB storage (both thumb drives and HDDs) I use both a RAVPower FileHub and a Kingston wireless G3, both of which work great:

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Digi...F8&qid=1463052960&sr=8-1&keywords=kingston+g3

http://www.amazon.com/RAVPower-Vers...d=1463053042&sr=8-3&keywords=ravpower+filehub

Among other uses, I use both of these for streaming video stored on an attached USB device.

4. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

TrueBlou

Not directly a thumb drive, but I use a Kingston MobileLite Wireless G3. You can connect any USB thumb drive/hard drive/ SD you like and stream wirelessly to your devices.

It's the only one of its kind so far to use Wireless ac so it's pretty quick. I've had 3 1080p videos streaming from it simultaneously without issue.

And of course it can serve as a router and emergency battery charger as well. Awesome device for the money.

5. striders macrumors 6502

I use the Leef and although it is slow, it worked fine for me. The main benefit for me is portability - it is so small I can carry it in my pocket.

I think the slowness have to do with the the way lightning port is designed.