USB to SATA cable cloning Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by james1758, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. james1758 macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi guys, trying to figure out the best way to clone my HDD onto my SSD. As im wanting to replace the HHD with an SSD, this 840 to be precise http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-Ser...F8&qid=1371511801&sr=1-1&keywords=samsung+840

    However I'm knew at this so need some help:)

    Would this USB to SATA cable http://www.amazon.co.uk/Proxima-Dir...ective/dp/B0098AF3U0/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top work? And if so does anyone know exactly how it works? For example does it literally just plug into my uMBP transfer the data to the new SSD and then I can simply switch the HDD and SSD around?

    I'm really needing a helping hand on this before i take the plunge and buy it so thanks in advance :)
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    I've used those types of adapters, most work but you will find a bad one every now and again.

    So connect the adapter to the new drive and just plug it into a USB port (there is a controller chip in the adapter). I'm not sure how that drive is formatted, but you will either see a warning pop up that the drive is unusable and needs to initialized or it will mount on the desktop.

    So either click on initialize or open disk utility. Format the drive as MacOS extended journaled. Once that is finished, it is ready for your favorite cloning software. There are a number of guides on the net, many download the trial version of carbon copy cloner and use it to clone your internal drive to the external. Then physically swap the drives and you're good to go.

    Edit: you see two USB cables on that adapter, one is signal +power, the other is just power. For a newbie, just plug them both into your laptop if you can. Otherwise plug in the thicker one. If you do not get a response, try the other cable plug.
     
  3. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #3
    Do you have an enclosure? If you do then just put the SSD in it. Or you can get one and use it for your OEM HDD backup/clone.
     
  4. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    it comes with an enclosure, so i guess i just put the old hdd in that enclosure and use it as an ext harddrive :)
     
  5. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #5
    If it comes with an enclosure then put the SSD in it and use CCC or Superduper to clone your OSX. Then put the SSD in your Mac and put the OEM HDD in that enclosure for whatever use you want.

    You don't have to buy the USB to SATA cable.
     
  6. james1758, Jun 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013

    james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Well I've already bought the cable anyways :p was only £3 :) But so it really is as simple as that?:eek: I'm perfectly competent at switching the drives around in my mac just all the cloning stuff which im new at!

    So simply
    -Plug SSD into mac via USB to SATA cable.
    -Copy all information on the HDD over to the connected SSD via CCC
    -Open up my mac and switch the HDD and SSD around (keeping the HDD as a spare of ext storage)
    -Turn on my mac with the new SSD installed.

    So that should work? I dont need to do any fancy cmd-r when im booting it up? Surely CCC will copy the OS over aswel so it is simply a case of just turning it back on :p
     
  7. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Does that list I wrote above seem alright? :)
     
  8. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Just a minor point, you don't copy files you clone the disk image.

    Yes its that simple.

    Before you physically swap drives you could restart the computer from the freshly cloned external drive to verify the cloning was successful and you can boot from the new drive.
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    After connecting your SSD to your computer using the USB cable, do the following.

    1. Launch Disk Utility.
    2. Select the SSD and click the “Partition” tab.
    3. Set the “Volume Scheme” to “1 Partition.”
    4. Click “Options” and select “GUID Partition Table” (for Intel-based Macs).
    5. Give the drive a name.
    6. Set the format to “Mac OS Extended (Journaled).”
    7. Apply the changes and confirm the actions.
    8. Follow these instructions.

    When done, you can swap out your old hard drive with the SSD and it should be a fully functional clone of your old hard drive. The only thing that you will be missing is the recovery partition. Directions on how to create a new recovery partition on your SSD can be found here.

    Good luck.
     
  10. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Ok thanks :) And yeah thats a good idea to restart from the cloned ssd as an external drive to check it works.

    And just to double check.. I know it clones all my documents photos info etc from the original HDD. But do I have to do anything with OSX Mountain Lion or will it copy the OSX Mountain Lion over to the new SSD?
     
  11. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #11
    When you clone, the contents of the new drive looks exactly like the old one, bit for bit and everything although the capacity will be adjusted.

    If you drag and drop (copy) then hidden files don't always move.
     
  12. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    So would this be instead of using CCC? Or is it aswel as using CCC? But whats a recovery partition?
    Thanks.
     
  13. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #13
    These ar better instructions than the overview I provided. What OS are you using and what kind of laptop? Newer OSs have recovery partitions, older do not. An yes you use the cloning app of your choice, whether that be CCC or something else.
     
  14. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I'm using a Mid 2009 uMBP. Is the recovery partition something to do with getting the OSX onto your new SSD?
     
  15. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #15

    The directions I posted does NOT use Carbon Copy Cloner. If you have already purchased CCC, you can skip my step #8 and use CCC instead.

    The recovery partition is a bootable partition with some useful tools that you can use if/when your main OS partition is not working correctly. It isn't essential but it can come in very handy. If you use CCC, that app will help you clone the recovery partition in addition to your main OS drive.
     
  16. ramram55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #16
    clone means the entire HD has been copied to external ssd.
    It is a matter of opening your macbook pro and start from there.
    Make sure once you boot up from ssd, go to system preference > start up disk and highlight it. Then you are in business.
     
  17. james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

    james1758

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Thanks for your help, and everyone elses, I will get the SSD within then next few days so I'll post back if it all goes well! (And if i need more help:rolleyes:)
     
  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY

Share This Page