USB TV Tuner

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by craigo424x, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. craigo424x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Can anyone recommend a cheap USB TV tuner that works w/ OS X? Do any of the windows ones work w/ OS X using some sort of software that someone created? I just came from a media center 04 pc and I don't have a tv in my room so I kinda miss that feature, does it handle well on the macbook? I did a search and found some really random companies w/ no reviews so any input would be great! Thanks
     
  2. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    second that
     
  3. mchank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #4
    Elgato's Eyetv software works with some Windows tuners. The Win HVR-950 usb tuner is the same as the Hybrid hardware wise but with different software.
     
  4. anothermacaddic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    Ill tell you that i DONT recommend ati's usb tv tuner. Its crap!
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    I'll third that. I'm using one on a 24" iMac and it looks GREAT!
     
  6. Fazzl macrumors 6502a

    Fazzl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #7
    How much does the eyetv cost? I have the dell angel USB tuner. Does anyone know if that will work?
     
  7. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

    Akira1980

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego
    #8
    I am using eyeTV on my MBP and it works great. I was going to buy a TV but not anymore.
     
  8. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
  9. hukuma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    A bit confused...

    Sorry...the eyetv website didn't answer this question (in a simple fashion), so I'll ask the users on this post:
    Can the eyetv hybrid act as a digital cable set-top box? Or, does it just take 'waves' over the air? I'd like to still be able to access all of my digital cable stations, and am happy (not really 'happy', perhaps 'willing') to continue to get screwed by Comcast on my monthly bill. I simply want to use my beautiful 17 MBP High Res in a room that doesn't have a proper TV.
     
  10. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    the eyetv hybrid can have over the air hd (ATSC) and then analog (NTSC) so no digital channels from cable which requires a QAM if I am not mistaken. Some other eyetv products may work but I have the hybrid so that's all i know really
     
  11. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #12
    QAM Is In The New El Gato Ethernet Tuner Product

    Only WAVES - Digital WAVES ATSC or Analog WAVES NTSC. It's not a cable tuner. Do you realize how much excellent HDTV is coming at you over the air in San Diego?
    Right. The new Ethernet product has a QAM tuner in it. Trouble is most cable systems don't yet support QAM thanks to their enthusiasm for digital broadcasting. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page